Luluc / Dear Hamlyn
Album: Dear Hamlyn   Collection:General
Artist:Luluc   Added:Dec 2019
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-12-18 Pull Date: 2020-02-19
Week Ending: Feb 23 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 5 Dec 29 Dec 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2020: Alphabet Soup
Warm One
4. Jan 04, 2020: Music Casserole
Body On The Water
2. Jan 24, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
I Found You
5. Jan 03, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
I Found You
3. Jan 17, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
I Found You
6. Dec 27, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
I Found You

Album Review
Reviewed 2019-12-23
Luluc is an Australian folk band, signed by Sub Pop of New York. This band seems to have an androgynous vocalist; sometimes you can’t really tell what gender is singing, but you still get a nice relaxing song from whoever sings. Spoiler alert, though: Luluc’s main vocalist is Zoë Randell, a woman. Also in Luluc is Steve Hassett. This particular album is a reissue for worldwide release of the band’s debut album from 2008. The lyrics in many songs in this album seem to have an affinity for the color blue. The band sounds better live (by a tiny amount). FCC: NONE Recommend: 4, 5
1. Bass (not the bass guitar) and acoustic guitar open this track steadily. Luluc’s voice comes in and supplements the sounds with her rich voice. Hopeful road-trip vibes emanate from this track, producing a comforting feeling. Trumpets get a solo, then vocalist hums along to the tune.
2. Gentle acoustic, vocalist starts singing immediately. Lyrics croon a nostalgia for another.
3. A bit more folksy than the previous two. Background singing in a lower pitch is included in this track, a feature of which was neglected in the previous two tracks. Features a bed as focus of lyrics.
4. ***Gentle track about rainy days. Listening closely, you can hear a guitar that croons like a country guitar. Wistful tone, not unlike the rest of the album.
5. *** This track features a ‘ba-ba’ vocalization, exploring the greater vocal range than the rest of the album. Interestingly enough, this track is almost aggressive in its memories.
6. Smooth drum kicks this off. Song about weariness and overall numbness. A little more melancholy instrumentals, further enhanced by the vocals. Harmonious guitar chords to bridge to the finale.
7. Bare-bones instrumentals enhanced by two vocalists (one dominant over the other). Song about the characteristics of a girl with musical talents(?).
8. Song about setting off into the unknown. Hits a new range of vocal notes previously undiscovered in this album. Sounds generally like it’s being played from a vinyl record, complete with the start and end skids.
9. Diving deep for this one :). A nice little tribute to country music with a weird kinda woopy guitar sound. Very positive self-image.
10. Very full sounds. Fades towards the end. Guitar kind of sounds like a harp in this one.
11. Warm-up sounds in the beginning. Kind of swingy. Similes comparing love to river flow. Praise for significant other and for the future of the relationship.

Track Listing
1. I Found You   6. Warm One
2. Little Suitcase   7. Gillian
3. The Wealthiest Queen   8. One Day Soon
4. Black Umbrella   9. Abigail & The Whale
5. Body On The Water   10. A Whisper
  11. My Midnight Special