Rose City Band / Rose City Band
Album: Rose City Band   Collection:General
Artist:Rose City Band   Added:Jan 2020
Label:Thrill Jockey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-01-15 Pull Date: 2020-04-29
Week Ending: Mar 15 Mar 1 Feb 23 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19
Airplays: 2 2 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 13, 2024: Some Songs Without Words
Rivers of Mind
4. Mar 14, 2020: Music Casserole
Me and Willie
2. Mar 17, 2023: Music Genealogy
Chasing Rainbows
5. Mar 13, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Rivers of Mind
3. Nov 02, 2022: Some Songs Without Words
Fog of Love
6. Feb 28, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Wandering Feeling

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2020-01-15
“Back porch” basic songs, guitars bass drums vocals psychedelic indie rock. Camera Obscura leaps to mind despite male vocals as well as a less twangy The Beautiful Confusion. Guitar work and overall acid trip of Wooden Shjips and MV&EE too. Fans of those bands and (gulp) the Grateful Dead alike will like this. Impossible to dislike this “easy going...ethereal” music. Upon going online my observations are confirmed (from Thrill Jockey): “Produced and recorded by Ripley Johnson (Wooden Shjips, Moon Duo), and mixed by Chris Cohen (Captured Tracks, Deerhoof), the album finds its niche in the hazy sonic landscape of private press country and psych records, and alongside artists like Relatively Clean Rivers, Jim Sullivan, Kenny Knight, and countless other explorers of the pastoral underground.” From Portlandia, the “Rose City”.

1) (3:50) dreamy pleasing pop 2) (4:25) more upbeat 3)* (7:02) chill slow mindful steal your face circa 2020, very Shijps 4) (3:40) upbeat with some slide gee-tar and The Dead start to loom even more 5) (6:34) an outright country bass line and beat, upbeat “train” rhythm and theme, I swear this is the guitarist from wooden shijps and moon duo, full on maximum echo treatments on vocals keep this okie from Muskogee taking his trips on LSD 6) (7:27) upbeat, here comes The Dead again, I can see the twirling now as it jams on 7) (4:23) classic ballad 4 chord structure, slightly minor

Track Listing
1. Rip City   5. Wandering Feeling
2. Wide Roll   6. Rivers of Mind
4. Me and Willie   7. Fear Song
  8. Fog of Love