Hassell, Jon/Farafina / Flash of the Spirit
Album:Flash of the Spirit Collection:General
Artist:Hassell, Jon/Farafina Added:Jan 2020

A-File Activity
Add Date:2020-01-29 Pull Date:2020-05-13 Charts:Classical/Experimental
Week Ending:Mar 15Mar 8Mar 1Feb 23Feb 16Feb 9Feb 2

Recent Airplay
1.Mar 12, 2020:The Run-Away Radio show
Flash Of The Spirit [Laughter]
4.Feb 20, 2020:Runaway Radio
Out Pours (Kongo) Blue [Prayer], Air Afrique [Wind], Flash Of The Spirit [Laughter]
2.Mar 04, 2020:Brownian Motion
Night Moves [Fear]
5.Feb 12, 2020:Brownian Motion
Masque [Strength]
3.Feb 27, 2020:Old Fart At Play
Flash Of The Spirit [Laughter]
6.Feb 06, 2020:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Dreamworld [Dance]

Album Review
Reviewed 2020-01-16 
– General Description: Burkinese rhythms with digitally processed trumpet and keyboards creating ambient soundscapes. Very engaging. A reissue and remastering of Flash of the Spirit from Jon Hassell and Farafina’s "Fourth World" series, originally released in 1988. Jon Hassel is a composer and trumpeter best known for “mixing technology with the tradition and spirituality of non-western cultures.” Farafina is a percussion-voice-dance troupe from Burkina Faso. This album was co-produced with Brian Eno and Dainel Lanois.

– FCC Compliant: YES

1. ***(5:48) Flash Of The Spirit [Laughter] - very nice beat under crazy nice horns
2. (2:24) Night Moves [Fear] - funky jungle beats under aquatic sounds
3. ***(3:59) Air Afrique [Wind] - fast start and simple group singing above
4. (7:14) Out Pours (Kongo) Blue [Prayer] - a push-pull of ideas over a repetitive percussive bed
5. ***(2:54) Kaboo [Play]- simple song with ethereal accompaniment
6. (4:44) (Like) Warriors Everywhere [Courage] - fast beat out-of-kilter jungle elephant music
7. (4:54) Dreamworld [Dance] - long sustained off-kilter chords over funky percussion
8. ***(4:18) Tales Of The Near Future [Clairvoyance] - Mid-Eastern in sound, ethereal
9. (4:00) A Vampire Dances [Symmetry] - spooky, of course
10. (11:42) Masque [Strength] - tremolo-ing away over funky beat

Track Listing
1.Flash Of The Spirit [Laughter] 6.(Like) Warriors Everywhere [Courage]
2.Night Moves [Fear] 7.Dreamworld [Dance]
3.Air Afrique [Wind] 8.Tales Of The Near Future [Clairvoyance]
4.Out Pours (Kongo) Blue [Prayer] 9.A Vampire Dances [Symmetry]
5.Kaboo [Play] 10.Masque [Strength]