Intrusive Thoughts / A Pristine Wilderness
Album: A Pristine Wilderness   Collection:General
Artist:Intrusive Thoughts   Added:Jan 2020
Label:Girly Girl Musik  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-01-22 Pull Date: 2020-05-06 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Mar 15 Feb 2 Jan 26
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 04, 2023: Music Casserole
4. Feb 01, 2020: On The Warpath
A Pristine Wilderness
2. Sep 22, 2021: On The Warpath (rebroadcast from Feb 1, 2020)
A Pristine Wilderness
5. Jan 25, 2020: On The Warpath
The Forgotten Coast
3. Mar 14, 2020: Music Casserole

Album Review
Eme O
Reviewed 2020-01-18
Intrusive Thoughts - A Pristine Wilderness (Girly Girl Musik)

Mostly gentle occasionally unsettling ambient/drone, inspired by Area X sci fi trilogy. “Full length debut album stretches samples of the familiar into echoes of what they once were.” A portion of each tape purchase will be donated to the Friends of St. Marks Wildlife Refuge. No FCCs, no words really. Faves: 3, 7, 9 ~eme o

1. A Pristine Wilderness (1:59) - Footsteps splashing through water, bird song, bass, wind swirls.

2. Consolidation of Authority (2:04) - Authoritative drone, sound reminiscent of a train horn, notes spiraling from high down to low.

3. *Mimicry (4:24) - Drone fades in like dawn, punctuations of noise. Awakening with an undercurrent of the unknown, voices inscrutable but not ominous (Obi Wan Kenobi vibe). Fade out from ~4:00.

4. The Forgotten Coast (2:36) - Steady drone, then percussive. Sound reminiscent of a roller coaster trending upward. Gentle surface, driving undercurrent, like swimming maybe.

5. Notebooks and the Eleventh Expedition (1:48) - Swirly drone with staticky crackle. Fade out from ~1:20.

6. Subconscious Triggers (1:44) - Sampled sounds, choppy. A message that keeps repeating from the beginning, having never reached the end. Abrupt stop.

7. *Plume (2:32) - Alien landscape, not quite ominous but unfamiliarity breeds fear. Nocturnal creature sounds in a jungle, flickers of light from flying insects.

8. Further Down the Tower (2:44) - Space ship hovering, helicopter-like. A release of sound at the end, dissolution, landing. Silence last four seconds.

9. *A New Biological Imperative (3:08) - Something exploratory, a learning process. Call and response, sounds high and low. Then an industrial screeching. Communication, design, construction.

10. Where Lies the Strangling Fruit (2:38) - Solid noise to start, then a chittering breaks through. Like a balance of manufactured (human) and nature (animal) sounds. Louder ~1:30, then a more authoritative voice takes over ~2:00. Fade ~2:20. Silence ~2:30.

Track Listing
1. A Pristine Wilderness   6. Subconscious Triggers
2. Consolidation of Authority   7. Plume
3. Mimicry   8. Further Down the Tower
4. The Forgotten Coast   9. A New Biological Imperative
5. Notebooks and the Eleventh Expedition   10. Where Lies the Strangling Fruit