Shelest, Anna & Dmitri / Ukrainian Rhapsody
Album: Ukrainian Rhapsody   Collection:Classical
Artist:Shelest, Anna & Dmitri   Added:Feb 2020
Label:Sorel Classics  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2020-02-05 Pull Date: 2020-05-20 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 23 Feb 9
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 04, 2021: Run-Away-Radio (rebroadcast from Feb 6, 2020)
Mykola Lysenko. Suite on Ukrainian Themes, Op. 2. I. Prelude (4:05)
3. Feb 06, 2020: Run-Away-Radio
Mykola Lysenko. Suite on Ukrainian Themes, Op. 2. I. Prelude (4:05)
2. Feb 20, 2020: Galactic Travel Radio
II. Blues: Almost American (6:23)

Album Review
Larry Koran
Reviewed 2020-02-02
The Ukrainian-born husband and wife Shelest Piano Duo, winners of multiple prizes, have appeared annually at Carnegie Hall since 2011. Here they perform solo and piano four-hand compositions by Ukrainian composers, generally in the style of the Romantic Period. Mykota Lysenko was a national hero who cultivated Ukrainian folklore and built folk music into his many compositions. His Suite begins with noble Prelude, and continues with saucy Prelude; and dance forms: an upbeat Courante ; a solemn Saraband; a Gavotte incorporating formal, excited, phrenetic, celebratory, serious, mocking, and mixed variations; and a joyous Scherzo. The Overture to the Opera “Taras Bulba” moves through lovely, celebratory, and Russian soldier-dancing melodies. Revutsky’s Preludes Op. 4 harken back to Chopin – singing melodies (No. 1), the drama of the Ballades (No. 2), the repeated patterns of the Etudes (No. 3); Op. 7 evokes Ballade-like drama (No.1), and virtuosity (No. 2). The Waltz, again, evokes Chopin’s singing elegance. Zhuk’s lovely Ukrainian Rhapsody begins simply, but in the second half becomes technically demanding, before ending with high treble register gaiety and fireworks. Skoryk’s Entrance and Dance struts energetically on stage full of noisy, mildly dissonant self-importance that evolves into a tantrum. Blues seems like the morning after a wild night out: tired, then picking up in a jazzy strutting mode, becoming a passionate tango, and ending bluesy. Can-Can is as advertised.

Track Listing
1. Mykola Lysenko. Suite on Ukrainian Themes, Op. 2. I. Prelude (4:05)   9. Prelude Op. 4 No. 2 in F-Sharp Minor (2:05)
2. II. Courant (3:36)   10. Prelude Op. 4 No. 3 in C-Sharp Minor (0:46)
3. III. Toccata (3:31)   11. Prelude Op. 7 No. 1 in E Flat (2:30)
4. Iv. Sarabanda (5:41)   12. Prelude Op. 7 No. 2 in B-Flat Minor (1:12)
5. V. Gavotte (3:24)   13. Waltz in B-Flat (3:15)
6. VI. Scherzo (2:33)   14. Alexander Zhuk, Ukrainian Rhapsody (6:40)
7. Overture to the Opera “taras Bulba” (4:54)   16. II. Blues: Almost American (6:23)
8. Levko Revutsky, Prelude Op. 4 No. 1 in D-Flat (2:12)   17. III. Can-Can: As From an Old Gramophone Plate (3:25)