Pedro The Lion / Havasu
Album: Havasu   Collection:General
Artist:Pedro The Lion   Added:Apr 2022
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-04-25 Pull Date: 2022-06-27
Week Ending: Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22 May 15 May 8
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Own Valentine
4. Jun 16, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Teenage Sequencer
2. Feb 09, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Own Valentine
5. Jan 13, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Teenage Sequencer
3. Jun 23, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Teenage Sequencer
6. Jan 06, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Teenage Sequencer

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2022-04-14
“Havasu” Pedro The Lion
At age 12, Pedro The Lion’s David Bazan moved with his family from Phoenix to Lake Havasu City in Arizona. Bazan’s recollection of his 7th grade insecurities in a brand new town and school provides the inspiration for the highly autobiographical “Havasu.” The album follows 2019’s “Phoenix” as the 2nd in a 5-part series revisiting Bazan’s childhood homes. The music is mostly low-key guitar rock with layered synths. Due to the melancholy themes, it can drag a bit at times. But there are a number of real gems on this album. RIYL: Headphones, The Hold Steady or Elvis Costello (his more mellow tracks).
— Francis

Highly recommended: 4, 5, 3, 2, 1, 8. Possible FCC on #1 (pissed off).

1. (4:03) Don’t Wanna Move — Mournful guitar hints at Bazan’s disappointment over his family’s move. Syncopated rhythm. Clashing guitars as tension builds. Subtle storm effects. Possible FCC: pissed off. ***
2. (3:29) Too Much — More of a confident strut. Bazan’s 7th grade self enters his new school for the 1st time. Emotive vocals. Noisy trail-out. ****
3. (5:17) First Drum Set — Storytelling ballad. Big reverbed guitars. Lyrics about wanting to switch in middle school from playing clarinet to saxophone, but then ending up learning the drums. Builds to bigger sound. ****
4. (4:16) Teenage Sequencer — Pulsing, shuffling, incredibly catchy pop tune. Guitars and atmospheric synths. Longing vocals. Thumping beat. ****
5. (3:17) Own Valentine — Simple, wistful stroll. Strummed and picked acoustic guitars over a toe-tapping rhythm. Sweet vocals. ****
6. (3:57) Making The Most Of It — Very deliberate, slow swing. Crooned vocals.
7. (3:21) Old Wisdom — Mesmerizing, chimey clocklike melody. Lyrics explore the conflict Bazan feels about the move to Lake Havasu City.
8. (4:33) Stranger — Chilling feelings of distance and loss. Repetitive guitar arpeggios with vocals that soar into falsettos at times — backed by a gentle tapping. ***
9. (4:46) Good Feeling — Halting and contemplative, as Bazan’s next family move (to Santa Cruz) awaits. Chimey guitar. Minimal bass and drums.
10. (2:38) Lost Myself — Fingerpicked, highly reverbed guitar. Introspective lyrics and vocals about Bazan’s time in Lake Havasu City.

Track Listing
1. Don't Wanna Move   6. Making The Most Of It
2. Too Much   7. Old Wisdom
3. First Drum Set   8. Stranger
4. Teenage Sequencer   9. Good Feeling
5. Own Valentine   10. Lost Myself