James, Loraine / Gentle Confrontation
Album: Gentle Confrontation   Collection:General - Electronic
Artist:James, Loraine   Added:Oct 2023
#UK #footwork #juke #ambient #Glitchy

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-11-09 Pull Date: 2024-01-11 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 14 Dec 17 Dec 3 Nov 26
Airplays: 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 25, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Prelude of Tired of Me
4. Dec 16, 2023: Music Casserole
Disjointed (Feeling Like a Kid Again)
2. Jan 18, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
One Way Ticket to the Midwest (Emo)
5. Dec 12, 2023: sample sampler
Déjà Vu
3. Jan 09, 2024: CATTYWAMPUS
One Way Ticket to the Midwest (Emo)
6. Dec 02, 2023: Music Casserole

Album Review
Reviewed 2023-10-26
Confessional electronic ballads from up-and-coming female #UK producer. Some tracks are instrumental and about half have a really earnest mumbly singling/spoken word verses that come across as very heartfelt. Rooted in #footwork/#juke, but with plenty of drifty #ambient and string elements. I really dig it. Released on Hyperdub, so you know it’s gotta be good.

FCC 4, 6
RIYL: PinkPantheress, jlin, Yaeji, Whatever the Weather, RP Boo

Try 3, 4, 9

1. Strings and footwork beat intro with resigned vocals
2. Moving tribute to her departed father with slow reverb-drenched vocals
3. Woozy fluttery beat with silky auto tuned vocals
4. (FCC) Great leftfield beat with a subtle juke churn. Guest vocals from RiTchie add a great shine
5. High BPM beats over a smooth ambient bed and silky vocals
6. (FCC) #Glitchy beat with mumbly distorted vocals
7. Floaty beat over some really great jazzy drum breaks. Instrumental
8. Bouncy electro acoustic beat. Bright and sunny, Nintendo-like
9. Mid tempo beat with samples of card players (I’m assuming these are Loraine’s grandparents?) Really cool tribute poem at the end
10. Hard hitting bass-soaked beat with soaring high vocals from Marina Herlop
11. Metallic beat with swirly vocal samples
12. Drifty cosmic ambient with a punchy beat and rapped verses. Mellows out at the halfway point
13. Smooth R&B with guest vocals from George Riley
14. Disjointed beat with a great late nite vibe (Jeremih, DVSN, Shlohmo etc.)
15. Minimal, sparse chopped beat
16. Slow fragile future R&B

Track Listing
1. Gentle Confrontation   9. Cards With the Grandparents
2. 2003   10. While They Were Singing
3. Let U Go   11. Try for Me
4. Déjà Vu   12. Tired of Me
5. Prelude of Tired of Me   13. Speechless
6. Glitch the System (Glitch Bitch 2)   14. Disjointed (Feeling Like a Kid Again)
7. I Dm U   15. I'm Trying to Love Myself
8. One Way Ticket to the Midwest (Emo)   16. Saying Goodbye