Wednesday / Rat Saw God
Album: Rat Saw God   Collection:General
Artist:Wednesday   Added:Oct 2023
Label:Dead Oceans  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-10-22 Pull Date: 2023-12-24
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 26 Nov 19 Nov 12
Airplays: 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 15, 2024: Phone Scam
Chosen to Deserve
4. Jan 24, 2024: GORP
2. Feb 20, 2024: Phone Scam
Bath County
5. Jan 23, 2024: Phone Scam
Bull Believer
3. Feb 08, 2024: Pest Control
Chosen to Deserve
6. Jan 20, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Formula One

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-10-15
Noisy, refreshingly messy and feral (for a band this well known) rock from Asheville, North Carolina. Heavy country and shoegaze influences; they have a dedicated lap steel player, but this is 180 degrees from squeaky clean Nashville pop. Singer/songwriter/guitarist Karly Hartzman writes with witty precision about the surreal, chaotic underside of daily life in suburban and rural America. RIYL Big Thief, MJ Lenderman (who's in this band), 22• Halo, Sparklehorse, Duster, Lomelda. Favorites: 2, 3, 4, 7. FCC WARNING: 1, 5, 6, 10.

1. (1:35)—FCC (f***). Mid-tempo, heavy, strong shoegaze feel.
2. *(8:30)—Medium-fast, dissonant and powerful, with a slow and crushingly loud ending over which Hartzman screams like a six-year old about watching her friends play Mortal Kombat.
3. *(2:18)—Medium-fast, bright and catchy, about getting electrocuted at band practice.
4. *(2:52)—Slow and gentle. Acoustic strumming, clean pedal steel. Pretty.
5. (5:32)—FCC (s***, p***). Medium-slow. Love song modeled on classic country.
6. (3:10)—FCC (p***). Mid-tempo, noisy, a little screamy.
7. *(4:07)—Mid-tempo. Joyous, wry, scuzzy pop; the verse melodies are pulled straight from The Kinks' "Waterloo Sunset" (as former KZSU DJ awyeh pointed out to me).
8. (4:05)—Starts slow and quiet before building and becoming fast, bash-out rock.
9. (2:32)—Slow, with lots of restrained brooding atmosphere.
10. (2:22)—FCC (f***). Mid-tempo, driving, with clean guitar but lots of high feedback.

Track Listing
1. Hot Rotten Grass Smell   6. Bath County
2. Bull Believer   7. Quarry
3. Got Shocked   8. Turkey Vultures
4. Formula One   9. Whats so Funny
5. Chosen to Deserve   10. Tv in the Gas Pump