American Analog Set, The / For Forever
Album: For Forever   Collection:General
Artist:American Analog Set, The   Added:Nov 2023
Label:Hometown Fantasy  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-12-10 Pull Date: 2024-02-11
Week Ending: Feb 11 Jan 21 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 16, 2024: Music Casserole
For Forever
4. Feb 28, 2024: The Library
2. Mar 02, 2024: Music Casserole
Over the Jeans
5. Feb 24, 2024: Emergency Crew
Camp Don't Count
3. Mar 01, 2024: Lost Civilization
Camp Don't Count
6. Feb 17, 2024: Music Casserole
For Forever

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-11-04
The first music in 18 years from a legenday Austin slowcore band. The assumption was that they'd broken up long ago, but for the past decade they practiced and recorded in secret. Their previous records are exquisitely dreamy, but this new music is heavier, drier, and more transparently unsettled. The calm singing adds to the disquiet. Beautiful, brooding, serrated. RIYL Bedhead, early Death Cab for Cutie, Duster, Pinback, Mojave 3, Andy Shauf. Favorites: 1, 3, 4, 7. FCC WARNING: 2, 5, 9, 10.

1. *(6:50)—Medium-slow. Extended intro. Catchy, simmering. Feels like a slightly doomier version of 00s indie rock.
2. (3:15)—FCC (f***). Slow and a little dissonant, with aggressive bass.
3. *(4:50)—Mid-tempo. Strutting rhythm, prominent organ, really nice guitar interplay. (Includes the line "I bet you’d bitch like you were never bought" but I don't think that's an FCC.)
4. *(4:38)—Medium-fast, with simple driving drums. Jittery but restrained.
5. (6:29)—FCC (c**k). Slow, feels like stoner rock before the vocal harmonies come in.
6. (4:21)—Mid-tempo. Whispered singing, lots of cymbal bashing.
7. *(12:47)—Slow, psychedelic. Textural, with minimal pulsing drums for the first five minutes. Long, gradual build.
8. (2:12)–Instrumental. Slow, with lots of backwards guitar.
9. (4:49)—FCC OBSCENE. Mid-tempo, chugging, with some rock-star singing at the end.
10. (4:51)—FCC (f*** multiple times). Mid-tempo. Pulsing near-dancefloor feel with droning textures.
11. (3:28)—Medium-slow, loping. Builds to a strained ending chorus.

Track Listing
1. Camp Don't Count   6. By the Bridle
2. Screaming for Vengeance   7. For Forever
3. Konika and Maliko   8. Mick Turner
4. Over the Jeans   9. The Quiet Dark
5. Long Limbs   10. Gin Shakes
  11. Mountain