Nervous Operator / Psychic Diffraction
Album: Psychic Diffraction   Collection:Digital
Artist:Nervous Operator   Added:Dec 2023
Label:Silva Electronics  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-03-04 Pull Date: 2024-05-06 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Apr 21 Apr 7 Mar 24 Mar 17
Airplays: 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Conjunction Squalls
4. Apr 15, 2024: Virtually Happy
Darkness in the House of Day
2. May 11, 2024: Music Casserole
Illusion Of Control
5. Apr 04, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Treasure Laden Wreck
3. Apr 20, 2024: Music Casserole
Illusion Of Control
6. Mar 21, 2024: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Birthday Suit
Conjunction Squalls

Album Review
Reviewed 2023-12-07
Dynamic, morphing, techno/industrial dub/breakbeat (hell, throw ambient in there too for good measure) from Vancouver producer Nervous Operator. Quite vivid and energetic—it makes sense to read that these songs are rooted in live performances. Tracks all have a distinctly narrative feel, and are maturely developed, with intricate attention to detail. Unafraid to experiment and employ a wide range of non-traditional textures. Pairs well with labelmates Juneunit, Michael Claus, and equilet. All tracks FCC Clean

1. Spiraling polyrhythms with wispy indistinguishable vocals. Nice bit of wobble on this one without overdoing it
2. Metallic industrial beat, breaks loose into a full-on Chicago acid assault at the halfway point
*3. Dense breakbeat with a woozy dub feel and meandering flute samples
4. Forceful, driving beat with echoed tones and slow-mo vocal snippets
*5. Dark, subterranean dub techno with gritty textures
*6. Extremely heavy, smoky, dub. Nice syncopated beat, looped “always watching” sample and an expansive feel. Squelchy synthesizer joins in at the halfway point
7. Galloping techno beat with blurred out conversation and stabs of fuzzed-out icy synth
8. Psychedelic techno with hand drums and a grab bag of slithery sounds
*9. Strange, haunting beat with gothic elements. Frenzied beat enters at the halfway mark. Get weird

Track Listing
1. Dawn Scatters The Midnight Ride   5. Darkness in the House of Day
2. Sequence Break   6. Conjunction Squalls
3. Treasure Laden Wreck   7. Floor Of Emotion
4. Nuclear Parasite   8. Clarity Loom
  9. Illusion Of Control