All Electric Smart Grid, The / Nonagon Volume I: The Summoning, The
Album: Nonagon Volume I: The Summoning, The   Collection:A-File
Artist:All Electric Smart Grid, The   Added:Jan 2024
Label:Self Release  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-05-27 Pull Date: 2024-07-29
Week Ending: Jul 21 Jul 14 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 9 Jun 2
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 22, 2024: Virtually Happy
The Summoning
4. Jul 08, 2024: On the Warpath
2. Jul 20, 2024: Music Casserole
The Summoning
5. Jun 29, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
3. Jul 15, 2024: On the Warpath
6. Jun 22, 2024: Music Casserole

Album Review
Reviewed 2024-01-08
Long-form synthesizer wizardry courtesy of local (and Stanford alum) electronic composer and instrument tinkerer The All Electric Smart Grid. Ever-morphing sculptural pieces with layered phrases and patterns. Intricate and expansive. Jammed out on a custom synthesizer and accompanied by a bit of fantastical lore to get you in the mood: “a wizard summons nine Elemental Spirits to perform the Minimal Ritual before time runs out.”

Fits perfectly alongside minimal greats like Philip Glass and Steve Reich and also new-school high-elevation synthesizer explorations by the likes of Red Electric Rainbow, Cruise Family, Konntinent, Lunar Miasma etc. All tracks instrumental. Check it out!

1. (12:02) Midtempo gyrating layers. Halfway through smooth ambient washes flow through the mix and add a really nice glow
2. (9:42) Energetic, fluttering, quipping. Fast scales and lots of movement
3. (11:20) Distinctly aqueous—fluttery and awash with cool-temperatured pulses. Probably my favorite of the bunch
4. (23:38) An epic, expansive slow burner. Quiet intro, suspenseful crescendos, an air of finality

Track Listing
1. Fire (12:02)   3. Water (11:20)
2. Earth (9:42)   4. The Summoning (23:38)