Osborne, Joan / Nobody Owns You
Album: Nobody Owns You   Collection:General
Artist:Osborne, Joan   Added:Feb 2024
Label:Womanly Hips Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2024-03-03 Pull Date: 2024-05-05
Week Ending: May 5 Apr 28 Apr 21 Apr 7 Mar 31 Mar 17 Mar 10
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 01, 2024: Hanging in the Boneyard
Great American Cities
4. May 25, 2024: Hanging in the Boneyard
I Should've Danced More
2. Jun 01, 2024: Music Casserole
Woman's Work, Dig a Little Ditch
5. May 15, 2024: That's not Bluegrass
Great American Cities
3. May 29, 2024: That's not Bluegrass
So Many Airports
6. Apr 30, 2024: Traditions
I Should've Danced More

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2024-02-14

Joan Osborne’s 12th studio album since her breakthrough nearly 30 years ago has a dozen new, good songs, all of them written or co-written by Osborne. The sound is easy to like, a little bit Americana or country-ish. Her band here includes guitar, lap steel guitar, piano, and several background vocalists.

FCC clean

1 ** mid-tempo. a good country-rock song about some things we all should do more (3:56)
2 ** mid-slow. folky w/ strummed guitar. uplifting advice from mom to daughter (3:32)
3 slow. an introspective folk ballad reflecting on the many roads traveled in life (3:44)
4 ** mid-tempo. feminist anthem driven by a funky bass line & a cool R&B organ (3:39)
5 mid-slow. quite a pretty song with sweet lyrics seemingly directed to a young child (3:40)
6 slow, acoustic & spare. a somewhat oblique protest song about guns, I think (4:03)
7 * mid-slow. bouncy & bluesy number about resisting the devil (3:40)
8 * very slow. a gentle prayer to bless an elderly woman, maybe the narrator’s mom (3:37)
9 * mid-tempo. a long list of different sorts of people, all of whom are the equal children of God. It’s a sweet message; some of the rhymes are humorous (4:26)
10 mid-slow. country-rock sound. the abstract lyrics went over my head (4:00)
11 slow. very gentle song about choosing to do some small good for the world (4:16)
12 ** mid-tempo. an uplifting love song to America: all its cities, all its people, all its music. Proudly patriotic & not the least bit partisan. Best song on the album by far (4:39)

Track Listing
1. I Should've Danced More   7. Dig a Little Ditch
2. Nobody Owns You   8. Secret Wine
3. So Many Airports   9. Child of God
4. Woman's Work   10. Tower of Joy
5. The Smallest Trees   11. Lifeline
6. Time of the Gun   12. Great American Cities