Broadcast / Noise Made By People, the
Album: Noise Made By People, the   Collection:General
Artist:Broadcast   Added:May 2000
Label:Warp Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 06, 2024: Some Songs Without Words
Tower of Our Tuning
4. May 30, 2023: Up the Beanstalk
Come on Let's Go
2. Nov 15, 2023: Fermentation Station
Echo's Answer
5. Dec 02, 2021: deep storage*
Echo's Answer
3. Oct 16, 2023: Some Songs Without Words
Dead the Long Year
6. Apr 17, 2018: deep storage
Dead the Long Year

Album Review
David McWade
Reviewed 2007-02-10
Imaginative, distinctive, often mystical 60s-ish electronic pop, "retro-futurism", with female vocals; 1st full length album that combines elements used by later Stereolab (without the kraut-rock fixation, it has been said) as well as early This Mortal Coil (with or without Ivo, depending on the track) and even Ladytron. Compared also to the United States of America ('60s band), but Broadcast are more up-to-date. This is a band that manages to have presence, even on the less exciting tracks.

All clean
Rec: 7, 9, 10 (also try 3, 4, 11, 12)

3 short electronic interlude, excellent, stands on its own
4 moderate tempo, dreamy, dark; updated throwback to some forgotten Top 40 hit from about 1970.
5 simple, slow
6 layered, almost incomplete-sounding, plodding beat (not in a bad way)
7 intense, elemental, quicker pop song, Stereolab comparisons, Cocteau Twins-ish melody)
8 this would have probably been the single, slow, deliberate
9 this one is magical; interplay of music's melody and instrumentation and voice; two quick verses and then a long denouement, mystical
10 the ballad. pensive and sad, classic, brilliant for lyrics and music, check out the ending!
11 quick verse/chorus structure, sensibilities of old hits
12 instrumental, excellent, starts out like a fragment, long deconstructed-electro-ambient ending.

Track Listing
1. Long Was the Year   7. Papercuts
2. Unchanging Window   8. You Can Fall
3. Minus One   9. Look Outside
4. Come on Let's Go   10. Until Then
5. Echo's Answer   11. City in Progress
6. Tower of Our Tuning   12. Dead the Long Year