Brick Layer Cake / Whatchamacallit
Album: Whatchamacallit   Collection:Deep Storage 200705
Artist:Brick Layer Cake   Added:Apr 2002
Label:Touch and Go  

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 06, 2006: Municipal Waste
Once Upon a Skin

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-04-10
Slow paced dirgy dark guits with snarled “evil” slow near whispered male vocs. Strange stuff. Like the Melvins or Earth hangin out in Chicago w/ Touch and Go for too long. Albini’esque drums on some songs. No liner credits, notes, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Albini and other notables are involved in this weird one.

1) FCCs! NO!
2) drumless, duel dark guits and vocs
3) drumless, dark lick repeating w/ chords, vocs
4) drums there but don’t “keep a beat” FCC at ca. 3:30 remaining: “we will fuck away the hours”
5) superdirgy guit + vocs only for 2+ min, then simple drums enter
6) FCC, epic with slow drums and silly music box-like behind the bridge picking
7) guit+vocs, almost a ballad
8) no drums

Track Listing
1. Stars   7. Icing on the Cake
2. Whats Her Face   8. Heaven to the Oven
3. Softie   9. Cakewalkmusic
4. Once Upon a Skin   10. Electrical Audio
5. Whatchaacallit   11. Eleven Ovens
6. The Wedding   12. Icing