Mecca Normal / Family Swan, the
Album: Family Swan, the   Collection:General
Artist:Mecca Normal   Added:Aug 2002
Label:Kill Rock Stars  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-09-30 Pull Date: 2002-12-02
Week Ending: Nov 24 Nov 17 Oct 13
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2003: The Back Of The Class
4. Oct 09, 2002: Brownian Motion
2. Nov 20, 2002: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Family Swan
5. Oct 07, 2002: This is what 15 Years of Radio has Done to Me (Fresh: 87-88)
3. Nov 13, 2002: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
What About the Boy?

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-09-18
Northwest duo, man on guitar w/ woman singing, occasionally adding minimal sounds, organ, woodblocks. But mostly just guit + vocs. Guit, electric, is mostly played over itself rhythmically with delay and noise. Vocs are storytelling, near performance art. These two have been around for almost 20 years, and this captures a live sound, with almost no overdubs. Rather minimal, simple, noisy, weird.

1) pensive guit w/ slow voc melodies
2) more rhythmic, almost boogy woogy
3) twist on classic poem “…when they came for me there was no one else to stand up…” with lead guit overdubs
4) minimal feedback and guit noise, looping, w/ nonsense vocalization, sorta Diamanda-like
5) psychedelic eastern drone tone
6) brief experimental sample loops
7) long about dysfunctional family, fucked up
8) simple clean guit, ballad poem-like
9) louder bar chords 10) slow somber organ, minimal dirge like, funeral home muzak

Track Listing
1. Is this You   6. I Hear You
2. What About the Boy?   7. Family Swan
3. Revolution#Pine   8. No Mind's Eye
4. In January   9. Ice Floes Aweigh
5. Every Wrong Word   10. Convince Yourself