Les Hommes / Les Hommes
Album: Les Hommes   Collection:General
Artist:Les Hommes   Added:Sep 2002
Label:18TH Street Lounge  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-11-25 Pull Date: 2003-01-27
Week Ending: Feb 2 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 29 Dec 22 Dec 8 Dec 1
Airplays: 1 3 3 1 1 1 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. May 17, 2014: Music Casserole
4. Jul 29, 2005: beat.net chapter 8.0: the contemporary & the not
2. Oct 05, 2006: Trip Over Zero
5. Jul 14, 2005: Trip Over Zero
3. Aug 02, 2005: Prelude to Story Time
6. Apr 10, 2005: Dancing in Outerspace

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2002-11-12
Les Hommes
Cinematic Loungy Jazzy Pop-y Brazillified Mood Music. Very accurately described as film music for a movie that never existed, each piece on this album is designed to musically illustrate a scene. Check the liner notes for a brief scene description for each song. More to the point, this album is one part Brazillian Lounge Bossa Nova, one part classic 60s Soul Jazz, and one part Pop, mixed up with Euro-Hipster music nerdiness. The primary instruments are Hammond organ, vibes, moog, and percussion with some string and other instruments sampled in for variety, plus a couple of songs have female vocalists. This release is very much in line with the current "Now Sound" 60s revival featured on labels such as Eighteenth Street Lounge, Jet Set Records, or Blow Up records, and definitely well above mean in quality. Recommended for lovers of mellow, groovy, happy music, start with tracks 1, 2, 4, and 10
1) *Flowing vibes, strings over tense drums
2) *Mid-tempo bossa swinging wordless female vocals
3) Jazzy vibes and Hammond with dialogue samples
4) *Building, cinematic. Female humming over guitar loop with moog bassline then Hammond
5) Up-tempo Spanish flavored lounge ditty featuring vibes and organ trading chops
6) Soul jazz interlude
7) Loungy bossa nova with female vocals
8) Chill out jazzy groove featuring congas
9) Medium-tempo lounge with spaced-out moog
10) *Soft but up-tempo, Brazillian bell percussion and guitar smoothed over with vibes.
Tom Purcell, November 2002

Track Listing
1. In Spring   6. The Fourth Homme
2. Intraspettro   7. Hommage
3. Six and Eigth   8. Vista Do Mar
4. Weegee   9. Boogaloogalick
5. Pousada Do Amor   10. The Way-Out