Merzbow / Merzbeat
Album: Merzbeat   Collection:General
Artist:Merzbow   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Important Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-12-02 Pull Date: 2003-02-03 Charts: Electronic, Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 29 Dec 22 Dec 8
Airplays: 3 1 1 2 4 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2009: Lost and Found
Looping Jane (Beat Mix)
4. Feb 13, 2003: The Digital/Analog War
Looping Jane (Beat Mix)
2. Nov 14, 2003: Distraction-Limited
Promotion Man
5. Feb 06, 2003: The Digital/Analog War
Promotion Man
3. May 05, 2003: Play it by ear
6. Jan 24, 2003: Input/Output
Promotion Man

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-11-25
Trademark Merzbow harsh distorto’ noise is toned down a hair so as to incorporate actual beats. Beats are electro treated, looped, but are more noise-rock-garage feeling than say breakbeat or electronica. The result is super cool. I guess this is about as mainstream as Merzbow could get. To the uninitiated, Merzbow is one of the knights of the roundtable of Japanoise’sters, usually creating ear bleeding unlistenable harsh assaults. This you can (almost) “dance to”.

1) cool tremolo’ed simple upbeat rock beat w/ distorto noise blanket
2) mid paced slightly swingy heavy beat, almost melodic noise
3) slightly sparser feel, mechanical mid paced beat, creepy tone, strange eastern feeling later on
4) rhythmic looping synth noise, almost MBV-like, no drum beats
5) looped disjunct rock beat w/ searing drones and wacky synths
6-65) seconds silence
66) (“hidden” track) looped sound of record cue’ing heavily treated turns more standard Merzbow harsh noise fare, no beat but looping

Track Listing
1. Promotion Man   4. Tadpole
2. Forgotten Land   5. Looping Jane (Beat Mix)
3. Shadow Barbarian (Long Mix)   6. Merzbow's Amlux (Jack Danger