Fog and Ocean / Fog and Ocean
Album: Fog and Ocean   Collection:General
Artist:Fog and Ocean   Added:Dec 2002
Label:555 Recordings (Az)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-08-25 Pull Date: 2003-10-27
Week Ending: Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31
Airplays: 2 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 19, 2003: Can't Argue with Cash
4. Sep 05, 2003: Stirling's Approximation
track 5
2. Sep 18, 2003: sad and dangerous
5. Sep 03, 2003: press and release
3. Sep 09, 2003: Arabian Nights
6. Aug 28, 2003: sad and dangerous

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-08-27
THIS IS GREAT! If you were disappointed with Looper’s ridiculously bad last album, Fog and Ocean might rejuvenate your thirst for that brand of mellow synth driven indie pop. Although most songs follow the same formula of sultry sad female vocals + fuzzy synth bass + simple drum machine beat, the songs are catchy and the sounds they choose are for the most part interesting, especially the noisier synth sounds. Great catchy melancholic pop. Think also of Saint Etienne.
All good but I liked: 1, 5, 4, 9, 13, 3

1. midtempo pop w/ sweet fem vox, fuzzy keyboards, swirls
2. upbeat, synth bass driven with ethereal vocals
3. fuzzy casio sound with melancholic wandering vocals
4. hardsoft driving catchy 80s synth bass
5. midtempo, sweet and really really catchy like looper
6. upbeat, sustained fuzzed synth
7. quiet male vox over organ, plucked synth bass
8. upbeat, nice digital distortion effect on bass
9. midtempo, poppy melancholy vox with great distorted noises
10. midtempo super poppy start-stop groove with lazy vocals
11. nice noisy synth over simple beat
12. detuned sustained keyboards, plucked bass, silly mysterious
13. great watery beat with sultry vocals

Track Listing