Yokota, Susumu / Boy and the Tree, the
Album: Boy and the Tree, the   Collection:General
Artist:Yokota, Susumu   Added:Jan 2003
Label:Leaf Label  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-09-06 Pull Date: 2004-11-07 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 7 Oct 10 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12
Airplays: 3 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 22, 2009: Jena & Gomorrah
Live Echo
4. Nov 01, 2004: Trip Over Zero
Grass, Tree and Stone
2. May 27, 2008: nag champa orangeasm
The Colour of Pomegranates
5. Nov 01, 2004: Go For Dover: Halloween Mashup
Secret Garden
3. Nov 03, 2004: the Dog and Pony Show
The Colour of Pomegranates
6. Oct 07, 2004: Stirling's Approximation
Grass, Tree and Stone

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-09-01
Ommmmm. Nature-themed ambient music that’s maybe a combination of Oren Ambarchi’s guitar drones, Jon Hassell’s organically shifting melodies, Chris Watson’s nature field recordings, and an ice-cold drink of water from a Japanese mountain brook. Mind-bogglingly evocative both of being in a particularly peaceful Japanese garden and of taking in a concert on some especially potent hallucinogenics. I’m going to break down crying at how beautiful this is. One comparison is to the Japanese psychedelic band Toho Sara (but I know that’s a real obscurity – sorry).

1. Wobbly bent-string notes and gentle but abstract wooden block percussion
2. Rhythmically looped and echoing percussion with slowly developing theme
3. Similar to track 2 but with the sppoky echoes replaced by ethereal “aaah”s
4. Simple reverbed guitar and tamboura drone builds with electronics, violin, voice, and tabla into a full-on … well, not exactly Indian song but a nice simulation
5. Slow intro gives way to rapid gamelan bells and then to gentle vocals
6. More fast gamelan bells plus a slow rhythm
7. Sampled berimbau (one-stringed Brazilian instrument) and voice
8. A bit tinkly but very placid groove
9. Casbah drone – repetitious, ominous, attractive
10. Thin-sounding keyboard scales
11. Birdsong-like (and cawing) strings, muted drumming, and a nice female chorus – just as if you were walking through the jungle; gorgeous
12. Wavering “melody” and wordless vocals

Track Listing
1. The Colour of Pomegranates   7. Beans
2. Live Echo   8. Plateau on Plateau
3. Fairy Link   9. Red Swan
4. Grass, Tree and Stone   10. Thread Leads to Heaven
5. Secret Garden   11. Future Tiger
6. Rose Necklace   12. Blood and Snow