Rubenstein-Gillis, Ivan / Ivan's Dream Band
Album: Ivan's Dream Band   Collection:General
Artist:Rubenstein-Gillis, Ivan   Added:Feb 2003
Label:Doggums Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-04-21 Pull Date: 2003-06-23
Week Ending: May 4 Apr 27
Airplays: 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
What Is Sad
3. Apr 24, 2003: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
The Greatest Life Ever
2. Apr 29, 2003: In the Leaves
Who Brought You Down
4. Apr 23, 2003: Off the Path

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-04-09
Good-natured, melodic acoustica (sorry, it's not rock and not really folk) with touches of country. Reminiscent in spots of Graeme Downes, the original came-to-NYC A folkie, Bobby Zimmerman, and even, gasp, Nick Drake. Mature, poetic but evocative lyrics.

1. Love-hate thing with/for NYC; nice organ touches at end; "bullshit"
2. Beautiful hook, lush guitars, cello, and female vocals
3. Keening vocals
4. Sparse, poignant, pretty; "fucking", "shit"
5. Upbeat tune with meaning-of-life-and-work questioning lyrics
6. Uh, self-help music? much better than that sounds; sharp codependent rebuttal at end makes the song stand out
7. The Drake-ian touch of cello, guitar, drums-out-back, forlorn voice and sensitive lyrics; derivative but from a good source
8. Dylan-esque, except for the line about wetting his pants
9. Peppy but otherwise unremarkable
10. Mediocre tune distinguished only by the melodica-ish organ solo
11. Starts unpromisingly but cranks up into near-rock
12. Aiming for observational and complex, just sounds smugly clever

Track Listing
1. I'm in New York   7. What Is Sad
2. The Greatest Life Ever   8. Success
3. Roll on   9. Patience
4. Onion Skin   10. Strangers
5. Temporary   11. Star Star
6. Who Brought You Down   12. T**S