Midstates / Shadowing Ghosts
Album: Shadowing Ghosts   Collection:General
Artist:Midstates   Added:Mar 2003
Label:Mental Monkey Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-04-28 Pull Date: 2003-06-30
Week Ending: May 18 May 11 May 4
Airplays: 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 14, 2003: Metal Sandwich
Clear the Clouds
4. May 06, 2003: In the Leaves
Cold of Fall
2. May 07, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
Hit the Blues
5. May 05, 2003: Play it by ear
Cold of Fall
3. May 07, 2003: The Subterranean Giraffe
Coma Turtle
6. Apr 30, 2003: Off the Path
Hit the Blues

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-04-15
Also known as Novasonic Down Hyperspace, these Chicago shoegazing popsters fall neatly into the Spacemen 3 / Spiritualized family of spacerock -- gentle vocals over spacy but rockin’ guitars, often building up to a beautiful wall of sound. Keyboards and synth also contribute by adding to the wall and offering melodic ornaments. Some songs have guitar solos straight out of Galaxie 500. They do it well, and as sad as the songs seem to be, there always seems to be that shoegazer smirk of “I’m sad but I’m tripping so it’s kind of funny.”
5, 11, 7, 12.

1. slow organ intro. Breaks into lazy, melancholic pop with noisy guitars and bluesy solos from guitar and keyboard.
2. sort of upbeat. spacy vocals and drums with acoustic interludes.
3. 7 seconds of synth sound
4. lazy tempo. pop vocals, heavily reverbed all else. choir at end.
5. gentle vocal intro then rockin’ guitars w/ synth sounds. instrumental for the rest, a nice wall of sound created.
6. smooth pop lullaby, vocal interlude, then reversed cello solos
7. gentle vocals over slowly building wall of sound.
8. rockin’ swirlin’ instrumental builds & breaks down w/ casio.
9. guitar and vocals with keyboard blurbs on top.
10. 10 seconds of a synth noise.
11. sweet lullaby duet with xylophones and spacy guitars.
12. nice floating pop song with slide guitars a la acetone.
13. mellow sustained organ and tremolo voice. noise rocks at end.
14. lazy tune with fender rhodes leading and nostalgic vocals.
15. sort of upbeat instrumental with wall of sound guitars.

Track Listing
1. Lost My Shadow   8. Better Go
2. Not Sure   9. Don't Bake Gin
3. Untitled   10. Untitled
4. Independency   11. Hit the Blues
5. Clear the Clouds   12. Cold of Fall
6. Sound Lake   13. You're So Far Away
7. Better Tomorrow   14. Be a Ghost
  15. Coma Turtle