Chowdhury, Subroto Roy / Raga Adi Basant
Album: Raga Adi Basant   Collection:World
Artist:Chowdhury, Subroto Roy   Added:Apr 2003
Label:India Archive Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-07 Pull Date: 2003-09-08 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 13
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 12, 2006: chapter 37.0: all our ancestors
Adi Basant: Alap, Jor & Jhal
3. Jul 31, 2003: Garam Chaai
Manjh Khamaj: Dhun/Vilambit, Manjh Khamaj: Alap
2. Aug 05, 2003: No Cover, No Minimum
Adi Basant: Madhya Gat Jhapt
4. Jul 07, 2003: The Southern World
Manjh Khamaj: Dhun/Vilambit

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-07-01
Subroto Roy Chowdhury: Raga Adi Basant
Label: India Archive
This CD features two different ragas – Tracks 1-3 are the Raga Adi Basant, and Tracks 4-5 are the Raga Manjh Khamaj. The Raga Adi Basant is a pretty complex work that is apparently quite difficult to play. The Raga Manjh Khamaj is lively and is apparently based on a romantic melody. As for all India Archive releases, you can learn a lot more about the music from the CD liner than from my limited review. Try: 2,3,5.
1. A long alap, jor, jhala combination that is free of the tablas. As per convention, it starts slowly and establishes the structure for the raga, and builds towards the end with some complex sitar flourishes.
2. Tablas are introduced and there are some complex moments here.
3. The dramatic climax of the raga – very sophisticated and complex sitar flourishes build up towards the end.
4. A tabla-free alap that starts slowly and establishes the structure for the raga.
5. Lively improvisations and dramatic sitar flourishes in this one.

Track Listing
1. Adi Basant: Alap, Jor & Jhal   3. Adi Basant: Drut Gat Tintal
2. Adi Basant: Madhya Gat Jhapt   4. Manjh Khamaj: Alap
  5. Manjh Khamaj: Dhun/Vilambit