Flynt, Henry / Hillbilly Tape Music
Album: Hillbilly Tape Music   Collection:General
Artist:Flynt, Henry   Added:May 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-09-08 Pull Date: 2003-11-10
Week Ending: Nov 9 Oct 5 Sep 28 Sep 21 Sep 14
Airplays: 2 2 1 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 13, 2020: Some Songs Without Words
Violin Strobe
4. Aug 30, 2005: Umami Jazz Program
Violin Strobe
2. Dec 28, 2016: Oh Messy Life
Jumping Wired
5. Feb 21, 2005: Stirling's Approximation
Leather High in E
3. Sep 12, 2006: Umami Jazz Program
Violin Strobe
6. Nov 04, 2004: Umami Jazz Program
Telsat Tune

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-06-04
The central conceit here is that the CD looks and sounds as if it were some Harry Smith discovery of a nameless Appalachian genius recorded in a cabin. Yet, the artist is an enigmatic author, visual artist, minimalist composer and performer (see Flynt wrote and plays these songs himself. Some of the tunes really rock out too. All of this is fascinating to contemplate in its etymology and thoroughly enjoyable.

1. Violin effected and amped to sound like a guitar playing a wanky but mind-blowing solo
2. Like a self-conscious Bo Diddley; "Who Do You Love" with restraint
3. Almost electronic in its arpeggiated plinkiness
4. As implied by the title, a slightly fuller version of the preceding track
5. "Jumping Wired"; jittery and seemingly random guitar and violin juxtapositions
6. Pretty guitar solo with effects
7. Similar to preceding track but in a different key and lower octave, hence more mellow
8. Delicate snatches of melody laid end to end, as if dominoes

Track Listing
1. Violin Strobe   5. Jumping Wired
2. Guitar Rebop   6. Leather High in a
3. Telsat Tune   7. Leather High in E
4. Full Telsat   8. S & M Delerium