Various Artists / Decks & the City VOL.2
Album: Decks & the City VOL.2   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Takeout Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-30 Pull Date: 2003-09-01 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 13 Jul 6
Airplays: 2 2 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 24, 2003: EOS
Closer, Voyage 01, Pitty Pat, Big Time Boogie Shit
4. Jul 03, 2003: Poptronica
Plastic Music, Composer
2. Jul 10, 2003: An Epiphany Of Sound
Big Time Boogie Shit, In the Park, In the Park, Own Style, Time to Jack, Vibration, Love It, Dub It, Plastic Music, Composer
5. Jun 30, 2003: Big Love Show
Love It, Dub It, Plastic Music, Composer
3. Jul 04, 2003: cats & dogs
Hustlin, Our Sound, Baby, My Belief, Closer, Voyage 01, Pitty Pat, Big Time Boogie Shit, Beautiful You, In the Park, Own Style, Time to Jack, Vibration, Love It, Dub It, Plastic Music, Composer

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-07-01
COLL: Decks & the City Vol. 2 – Chicago: DJ DIZ
Label: Takeout Records
This is a mix-CD by one of the biggest names in house music – DJ/Producer DIZ. The sound that’s featured is “Chicago house” – a sound that’s characterized by crisp & punchy beats, simple and catchy funk/synth/guitar loops, and occasional vocal snippets. The thing is, this sound is now all over the place – as many underground house parties feature this style. You can hear this sound at many Bay Area parties, as many DJ/producers were (and still are) inspired by the so-called Chicago sound. This is a mix-CD, so it’s best to play it in parts, and the parts I liked best were 1-4, 9-13, but it’s mostly pretty good.
1. Deep house w/ a tasty sax loop and some preacher vocal samples
2. Grinding bassline w/ some tech-y filtered percussive effect
3. Dubby reverbed effects/synths/vocal samples over deep-house beat
4. Simple synth loops & some dubby vocal samples
5. Kinda dirty analog bass & a robo-vocal loop over a hard beat
6. Some nice funky synth & horn loops, sample about ‘style’
7. Various vocal samples cut up & looped over a simple beat
8. Soulful R&B vocals over basic deep-house beats, cheesy filters
9. Funky melody made of jazzy syncopated piano loops
10. Straight-up jazz-style guitar melodies over beats
11. Some catchy sax snippets and flowing/changing synth loops
12. Warbly synth loops, kind of a tech-y beat, some vocal snippets
13. Swirly synths over a punchy beat
14. Latin-y; lots of percussive layers & pianos, breathy vocal samples
15. Some funky disco guitar sample & a filtered vocal loop
16. Whoo-hoo sample & some cool video-game sound snippets

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Sysco Composer
2. Duriez, David Plastic Music
3. Iz & Diz Love It, Dub It
4. Desardi, Lance Vibration
5. Farina, Mark Time to Jack
6. Rzblingz & CASH30O Own Style
7. Beat Smugglers In the Park
8. Dealer's Choice Beautiful You
9. Shaftbury Sisters Big Time Boogie Shit
10. Dixon, Mike Pitty Pat
11. Rob-In Voyage 01
12. Harris, Justin Closer
13. Donaldson, Jt My Belief
14. Venetjoki, Martin Baby
15. Lo/Rez Our Sound
16. Joshua Hustlin