Gd Luxxe / 21ST Door, the
Album: 21ST Door, the   Collection:General
Artist:Gd Luxxe   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Interdimensional Trans...  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-19 Pull Date: 2003-12-21
Week Ending: Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 26
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 23, 2003: Civil Society
Cold Mines
4. Oct 23, 2003: Baptism Of Solitude
Cold Mines
2. Nov 05, 2003: Stirling's Approximation
Changed Body
5. Oct 23, 2003: Umami of Sound
My Guiding Ghost
3. Oct 30, 2003: Brownian Epiphany
Changed Body

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-10-14
Gerhard Potuznik (aka GD Luxxe) is a Viennese musician and producer who is involved in glitchtronics on the Mego label, the mad rantings of Chicks on Speed, some pretty “normal” pop, this electro persona GD Luxxe, and a few other projects. Here, new wave-y song ideas (i.e., simple riffs repeated mechanically) get an update as GDL mixes in elements of goth, earnest pop, and dark beats and sings in a pleasant competent-but-reserved voice. This album is like a great industrial dance album minus the aggression. Also check out Potuznik’s masterpiece Amore Motore (on Mego) in the library (under “Potuznik”).

1. Chunky pumping rhythm with blasé vox and an ever-so-slight whiff of Joy Division’s “Heart and Soul” appropriated in the minimalistic melody
2. Stealthy soundtrack music
3. Motorik but funky groove with a few production tricks tossed in the mix
4. It’s 1985 again – with stripped beats, a vocals-in-a-metal box effect, distorted guitar shreds, and overall a cold, dark electronic sound; excellent
5. Synth slashes; short track
6. Chipper beats enveloped in harsh effects; clear vocals; totally nouveau wave
7. Wannabe catchy tune with a short melody and a pleading lyric
8. Dire technological nightmare – “Future on DVD” – as if DVD were a drug
9. Suave reading of lyrics over pleasantly melodic blips, bloops, and boings
10. Clinically clean synth groove and GDL’s appealing vocals singing a prototypically industrial lyric – “walking in cold mines”
11. Very cool mildly glitchy industrial synth dance music
12. Great hook, great burbly rhythm; a fabulous track

Track Listing
1. Minds   7. Pain & Love
2. Hydrolic Buildings   8. Future on Dvd
3. My Guiding Ghost   9. Keep Me
4. Changed Body   10. Cold Mines
5. (Angels)   11. (Busy)
6. New Definition   12. Which Side Are You on