Black, Frank and the Catholics / Show Me Your Tears
Album:Show Me Your Tears Collection:General
Artist:Black, Frank and the Catholics Added:Sep 2003
Label:Spin Art 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2003-12-08 Pull Date:2004-02-09 
Week Ending:Feb 8Feb 1Jan 25Jan 18Jan 11Jan 4Dec 21Dec 14

Recent Airplay
1.Sep 07, 2006:knifefishhappyhour
Everything Is New
4.Aug 04, 2005:Blues For the Red Sun
2.Apr 13, 2006:knifefishhappyhour
Everything Is New
5.Feb 04, 2004:press and release
Massif Centrale
3.Oct 05, 2005:Epic Distruction
Massif Centrale
6.Jan 27, 2004:Today is a Insipid Day (To Blow Up a Post Office)
Massif Centrale

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-11-22 
Dark, country tinged rock songs. If Frank Black is trying to model his career on Lou Reed’s, he’s doing a good job so far. Compare: both start their careers with four albums of abso-fuck-a-lootly brilliant work with a seminal, genre shaping band, then proceed to a steady stream of solo albums of ever-decreasing brilliance. Following these trends, in 20 years Black will be recording tripped out spoken word interpretations of mid-19th century American poets. This album, meanwhile, is Black’s equivalent to “Coney Island Baby”: a nice, accessible, yet somehow mediocre album. It’s decidedly countrified, with piano and steel guitar all over. Black’s vocals are laconic, and only rarely do we see the old Pixies-esque energy. Still, it does a decent job when it tries to be darker, and hopefully it can tide us all over till the reunion tour.

Best tracks: 2, then 1, 5, 7, 8, 10.

*1. Dark, bass-heavy blues. A little bit of screaming. Yay!
**2. Mellow, catchy. My favorite on the album.
3. Unimpressive countryish song. Bad lyrics.
4. Riff driven, mid-tempo rocker. A bit too Rod Stewart-y (who would’ve thought you could ever say that about a Frank Black song?)
*5. Slow, dark, lots of piano.
6. Up-tempo, so-so country ballad. One ‘fuck’ near the end.
*7. Good rocker, cool falsetto, strong breakdown. Rock!
*8. Softer, sad. I like it.
9. Waaay too country.
*10. Dark, moody. Got some cool moans in there.
11. Mediocre, but short.

Track Listing
1.Nadine 7.Massif Centrale
2.Everything Is New 8.When Will Happiness Find Me
3.My Favorite Kiss 9.Goodbye Lorraine
4.Jaina Blues 10.This Old Heartache
5.New House of the Pope 11.The Snake
6.Horrible Day 12.Coastline