National, The / Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers
Album: Sad Songs for Dirty Lovers   Collection:General
Artist:National, The   Added:Nov 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-12-29 Pull Date: 2004-03-01
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 06, 2018: Hanging in the bone yard
4. Oct 11, 2011: There and Back Again
Murder Me Rachael
2. Mar 29, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
5. Mar 22, 2011: The Independent Mind
90-MILE Water Wall
3. Jun 15, 2012: Last Verses*
6. Oct 28, 2010: Hipster Garbage
Slipping Husband

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-12-24
The tempos are slow, the male singer sings in a low, occasionally mumbled manner, that the arrangements lean toward the acoustic and the precious, and the lyrics toward the downbeat. The guitars are sometimes twangy. Does this qualify as “an American Tindersticks”? Anyhow, there is less of “a sound” and more eclecticism. And less passion, I think. But it’s good enough.

1. Justifies the simple Tindersticks comparison outlined above
2. Excellent, catchy country-pop tune with cautionary lyrics
3. Upbeat folkie strumming with downbeat vocals
4. Starts out a straight folk-rock tune; about 2 1/2 minutes a floating ambient groove kicks in
5. Roiling tune builds in majesty
6. Melancholy yet upbeat
7. Impassioned rocker
8. Nondescript
9. Pleasantly complex arrangement and a catchy tune
10. Nice but unmemorable tune, sometimes good lyrics
11. Sexy bass singing; lovely guitar and accordion (or melodica) touches
12. Country-folk dirge with prodding, exploring tentacles of guitar

Track Listing
1. Cardinal Song   7. Available
2. Slipping Husband   8. Sugar Wife
3. 90-MILE Water Wall   9. Trophy Wife
4. It Never Happened   10. Fashion Coat
5. Murder Me Rachael   11. Patterns of Fairytales
6. Thirsty   12. Lucky You