Under Threat / Behind Mankinds Disguise
Album: Behind Mankinds Disguise   Collection:General
Artist:Under Threat   Added:Nov 2003
Label:Conquest Music, Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-01-19 Pull Date: 2004-03-22 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Feb 29 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 01, 2004: Les Chevaux de Frise
Face of Emptiness
4. Feb 12, 2004: Dolce! -- 30% More In Every Box!
Desperate Human's Path
2. Feb 26, 2004: Dolce!
Mirrors of Dejection
5. Feb 05, 2004: Dolce!
Mirrors of Dejection
3. Feb 19, 2004: Dolce!
6. Jan 29, 2004: Dolce! -- Now with 100% More Tenley!

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-01-31
Under Threat – Behind Mankind’s Disguise (Conquest Music)
Melodic death metal from Colombia. Holy shit, this stuff is excellent. Pretty much unknowns, these guys take all the right influences from all the right metal sources and forge them into a surprisingly unique sound. Galloping rhythms, dual-guitar harmonies, gruff vocals, plus all the quiet acoustic interludes you want, powdered with layered gruff vocals that have a strange melodic character during the choruses, and drumming that never lets go; in other words, this is a mix of all that’s good about power, thrash, death, and black, with none of the bad stuff. All tracks are very good.
1) Starts out with some powerful orchestral intro and then becomes a very powerful lead-off track taking all the above-mentioned influences.
2) Kinda more of the same, melodic with cool guitar harmonies and leads and really good vocals, definitely on the black side of things.
3) Thrash! Check out the bass riff, it’s smokin’! The chorus could have come out of any Rhapsody song.
4) Starts out with a nice acoustic buildup which segues right into a double-time thrash piece with kick-ass drums and staccato vocal lines. Post-bridge, it becomes really awesome with some excellent soloing.
5) Lighter in the beginning, but still good; makes up for it towards the end with some excellent staccato riffs and even blast beats.
6) More insane, old-school soloing, and more Maiden/ATG worship, but it’s good.
7) Not falling into a pattern yet, this one keeps things varied by offering some odd time signatures, and lots of that classic dual-guitar harmony/blast beat combo. Even sounds like the new Krisiun in parts.
8) Instrumental, probably one of the best of the year. Kick-ass!
9) So now they want to hurt us all with really heavy music. And whispered spoken-word vocals on top of really progressive bass runs. And soloing that doesn’t stop.
10) Another one of those slow, soft, acoustic intros, but you know where it’s gonna lead, right? Right. Thrash! Awesome!
11) A little more run-of-the-mill, but it’s still damn listenable.
12) The finale, however, is pure metal bliss. Complex, progressive, melodic, aggressive, and really heavy all rolled into one. Awesome vocals to boot, and the pace just never lets down.

Track Listing
1. Blame Game Trap   6. Behind Mankind's Disguise
2. Under Threat   7. The End of Grace
3. The Serpent's Lick   8. Infestation
4. The Ghost and the Machine   9. Gates of Deception
5. Desperate Human's Path   10. The Warning
  11. Mirrors of Dejection