Yeltsin / Yeltsin
Album: Yeltsin   Collection:General
Artist:Yeltsin   Added:Dec 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-03-22 Pull Date: 2004-05-24
Week Ending: May 2 Apr 18 Mar 28
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2004: The Luchbox
Ex Oficio
3. Mar 26, 2004: Discarded, Recycled, and New
2. Apr 17, 2004: Mor On - The Literate Pop Fan
4. Mar 23, 2004: Sibling Synergy

Album Review
Matt Mettler
Reviewed 2004-03-28
Out of Eugene, OR, this is Yelsin’s first EP – and it is promising. Yeltsin is a three piece, whose sound captures elements of reformed punk (Pixies), indi-rock (Pavement), and Post Punk (New Order). The three piece works well, capturing frenetic punk energy, but maintaining a tempered and intelligent indi-rock quality. Yeltsin sort of affirms what might be called a “traditional” indi-rock style of the mid-90s while charting their own course. This is what good independent rock sounds like. – Matt M.

Play this song*
1. Mid-tempo – rhythmic guitar pulse – more of a straight ahead new-wave rock song.
2. *Mid-up tempo – playful, reminds me of a Pixies tune.
3. *Up-tempo – throbbing, but surprisingly mellow rock song.
4. Mid-tempo – more of an indi-rock tune – vocally and guitar wise – ala Pavement.
5. Mid-tempo – nice. I think the guitar riff is ripped off from something on The Bends.

Track Listing
1. Rain Song   3. Circles
2. Ex Oficio   4. Cotton Candy
  5. By Myself