Red Tyger Church, the / Free Energy
Album: Free Energy   Collection:General
Artist:Red Tyger Church, the   Added:Feb 2004
Label:Alive Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-06-21 Pull Date: 2004-08-23
Week Ending: Aug 15 Jul 18 Jul 11 Jul 4 Jun 27
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 31, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Nonpotent Potables
Cherry Cola
4. Jul 14, 2004: Civil Society
Free Energy
2. Aug 13, 2004: Multiple Personality Disorder
Wolves of Sunshine
5. Jul 08, 2004: Hello Kitten
Free Energy
3. Jul 16, 2004: Multiple Personality Disorder
Wolves of Sunshine
6. Jul 07, 2004: Civil Society
Wolves of Sunshine

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-06-15
Glam rock from Sacramento. Hippie standing established by the artwork and the credits for sitar and tambourine, rocker standing by the “no sampling or programming” bit, this album takes you to that space that the Airplane, the mid-period Stones, and more recently, Sky Cries Mary, and from the rocker end, The Makers used to fill. Great snarling riffs, blasted lyrics, and rhythm guitar that would make Keef R. proud.

1. Tribute to the (old, snarling) Rolling Stones, right from the start
2. Bouncy, catchy, complete with inane “yeah yeah yeah” at the end
3. Gentle start with female vox; transforms into a mini-power ballad
4. Deep into the tambourine-shaking hippie jam now; rock on!
5. A bit of silly psychedelia here – more Dukes of Stratosfear
6. Stones-ish riff
7. Power ballad
8. Another acoustic tune
9. Percussive dirge builds into ass-kicking swirl of guitars
10. Happy psych
11. Piano and vox coda

Track Listing
1. Spell Against Squares   6. Cherry Cola
2. Angie Vampyre   7. A Strawberry Slowdown
3. Cat People   8. Unicorn
4. Free Energy   9. Wolves of Sunshine
5. Dawn of the Phoenix   10. Welcome
  11. Tears By the Pound