Various Artists / Rhyme and Reason
Album: Rhyme and Reason   Collection:Spoken Word
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Mar 2004
Label:Metaphorical Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-09 Pull Date: 2004-10-11
Week Ending: Sep 19 Aug 22 Aug 15
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 20, 2007: Storytime!
Body Wash
4. Aug 16, 2005: Storytime!
Body Wash
2. Feb 27, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
Body Wash
5. Nov 23, 2004: Storytime!
Body Wash
3. Feb 24, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
Niggas Doin' Time
6. Nov 02, 2004: Storytime!--Free For all
Body Wash

Album Review
Mandy Khoshnevisan
Reviewed 2004-08-05

Passionate, socially aware spoken word, emphatic, halfway between beat poetry and rap. From a minority experience point of view. Rhymes rolling off the tongue, rap-style. Performed by four artists, scattered throughout the album. Recorded live—you can hear the audience laugh, applaud, and empathize. FCCs are cleaned up already, backwardized. I like 15 and 16, but all are nifty.

1. (1:05) extemporaneous intro to track 2
2. (2:57) imagined tirade of an old beat poet being read in cheesy coffee houses
3. (0:42) intro to track 4 (his history of being clean and out of jail)
4. (4:04) “poem about being devalued” segregation, rehab, falling out of society
5. (1:47) riff on “Hispanic,” the sound of the word, and the concept
6. (2:22) “romance” is commercial crap; let’s connect with the world and our people
7. (3:07) (funny) being deaf, dumb, and blind is cowardly—gotta look at yoself
8. (2:56) surviving sexual abuse as a child (and abortion?)
9. (4:44) struggling to be a good person—the struggling is the living
10. (1:47) being pushed by prejudice from schoolchild to doin’ time
11. (0:43) intro to track 12—“hope after dope”
12. (4:33) too much societal pressure? You have a heart attack—but you’ll get no sympathy
13. (4:16) it’s not who you want me to be, babe; it’s who I want you to be.
14. (0:23) intro to track 15
15. *(2:34) “I couldn’t die until I found someone to wash my body, so I am alive.”
16. *(2:05) (contains intro) about perms as self-torture
17. (3:33) the world sucks, but you are hot, Black man, and our race lives on.
18. (2:13) sexy poem about pancakes

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Asmina Notes From a Fallen Poet
2. Asmina Notes From a Fallen Poet
3. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb The Value of Dookie Intro
4. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb The Value of Dookie
5. La Raging Brown Wolf Hispanic
6. Asmina Romance Is Dead
7. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Deaf Dumb and Blind
8. La Raging Brown Wolf Surviving the Cut
9. Dash Brookins Struggle
10. Asmina Niggas Doin' Time
11. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Heart Attack Intro
12. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Heart Attack
13. La Raging Brown Wolf Should I?
14. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Body Wash Intro
15. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Body Wash
16. Asmina Perms
17. La Raging Brown Wolf Blackman
18. Ibn Yahya, Khateeb Pancakes at Midnight