Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Demon Bros. / Far From the Cold
Album:Far From the Cold Collection:General
Artist:Demon Bros. Added:03/2004
Label:Sik Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2004-04-05 Pull Date:2004-06-07 Charts:RPM/Electronica
Week Ending:11 Apr

Recent Airplay
1.Tue, 06 Apr 04:Red West
Cold Clammy Hand of Friendship
2.Thu, 01 Apr 04:rE\dOx + LadyDev
The Ungodly Hour

Album Review
rE\dOx + LadyDev
Reviewed 2004-03-28 
Ahhhhh, yes . . . it’s been a while since I’ve heard true goth rock. Demon Bros., comprised of Derek Ian (vox, synth, guitar), Mike Kuz (lead guitar), and Sabra Saber (programmer), come at us from Los Angeles, California, bringing to the table that sensuous depression we so lovingly label as gothic music. Without sounding too much like any other band in their genre, Demon Bros. take a little bite of The Cure, David Bowie, Gene Loves Jezebel, The Sisters of Mercy and Christian Death, toss in a little more synth programming, sex appeal, unforgettably haunting choruses and vampire overtones, delivering a collection of songs that are truly a pleasure to behold. I highly recommend their entire EP, Far From the Cold, which marks their first release to date, and hold my breath in anticipation of their full length. DJs: when you pick this one up to play, just think dark, dancey, gothy rocky melancholy but luxuriously sultry tunes and you will in no way be disappointed with what you hear. Nor will your listeners.

potty-mouth tracks: none detected

(note: rating numbers are out of 10 and following each track description)
1. Black Tears: abrupt intro; sultry vox; fast beat (8). 2. Just Not the Same: quieter beat than the previous; watery; sultry vox (8). 3. Flower for You: sure to be a hit; bassy; breathy vox; catchy chorus (9). 4. Videod: bassy; dancey beat; heavy guitars (8). 5. Klone: gargling vox; another bassy song; some fem vox (8). 6. By My Side: eerie intro; whispering samples; synthy (8).
SIK Records - review courtesy of LadyDev

Track Listing
1.Black Tears 4.Videod
2.Just not the Same 5.Klone
3.Flower for You 6.By My Side