Lord, Mary Lou / Baby Blue
Album: Baby Blue   Collection:General
Artist:Lord, Mary Lou   Added:Apr 2004
Label:Rubric Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-07-19 Pull Date: 2004-09-19
Week Ending: Sep 12 Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 8 Jul 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 17, 2021: Traditions (rebroadcast from Jun 15, 2018)
4. Sep 01, 2004: mr. sparkle challenge
The Wind Blew All Around Me
2. Jun 15, 2018: Traditions
5. Aug 25, 2004: Civil Society
Old Tin Tray
3. Sep 10, 2004: No Cover, No Minimum - Fo Plays the Numbers
6. Aug 18, 2004: Brownian Motion

Album Review
the id
Reviewed 2004-07-06
Country/soft rock sound. The vocals were soft, breathy, sulky
and weak on every single song, which lead me to wonder if she
could actually sing if she tried. Her unvaried approach to her so-called
singing made this tiring to listen to for 45 minutes. However, people
that like generic mainstream country might actually like this stuff.
If u r a big fan of mainstream, melancholy country/pop,
try tracks 1, 3, 10, 13 & 14

1. *Sounds like the kind of music you’d hear in a chick flick.
When I hear this I imagine girls giggling and acting “crazy”
Just some basic guitar strumming and singing.
2. Common guitar chord pattern that people seem to like with
vocals that follow the chords.
3. *Love song with some harmonies and a little guitar solo
4. Distorted guitar, attempt at country/rock with timid vocals
5. Strumming guitar, somewhat interesting guitar solo
6. Sounds like a break up song
7. A faster, harder rocking, guitar distorted sound with vocals
you can barely hear at times. Cool harmony/chorus though
8. I can’t really hear what she’s saying but I’m guessing this is
a sad song
9. Mid/fast tempo guitar strumming. One of those “hey don’t
talk bad about me or it’ll come back to you” songs
10. *Brushes on drums, piano, a more distinctive guitar sound than
the other songs on this CD(which isn’t saying much)
11. Distorted guitar with some banging power chords
12. I can’t hear what she’s saying again and all we’ve got
is an acoustic guitar and a bit of harmonica. This is the
third or fourth song she’s done about getting old judging
by the few lyrics I have heard. No, u r not 18, get over it!
13. *A Pink Floyd re-make, not bad. Good choice for her style.
14. *Violin, guitar, I can actually hear her this time, nice harmony
Loud sigh is the last thing you hear on this CD.

Track Listing
1. The Wind Blew All Around Me   8. Because He's Leaving
2. Long Way From Tupelo   9. Someone Always Talks
3. 43   10. Turn Me Round
4. Baby Blue   11. Stars Burn Out
5. Cold Kilburn Rain   12. Ron
6. Farming It Out   13. Fearless
7. The Inhibition Twist   14. Old Tin Tray