Dimlaia / Dimlaia
Album: Dimlaia   Collection:General
Artist:Dimlaia   Added:Jun 2004
Label:Life Is Abuse  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-06-21 Pull Date: 2004-08-23 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15 Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18 Jul 11
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 3 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 26, 2007: Cognitive Overload (Doom-ish Special)
4. Aug 15, 2004: Oh Messy Life
2. Aug 22, 2004: Oh Messy Life
Night Covers Massacre
5. Aug 12, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Night Covers Massacre
3. Aug 19, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Hide the Sun
6. Aug 05, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Night Covers Massacre

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-06-22
A dark, depressing and patient rock record. I can’t just throw this in some easy category like hardcore or metal. There are some gothy soundscapes, some heavy parts that are very much like Neurosis, 3 different vocalists including one female, cello by Jackie from Amber Asylum, and just a great combination of heavy, sad, and pretty. Doom without sounding like your standard doom band. Carl (His Hero is Gone, I Love a Parade) plays bass and does some singing. Produced by Dave of Neurosis. One of the vocalists is a dead ringer for one of the Neurosis vocalists.
**1. Starts with just drums and you can just tell something is coming. Bass joins in and creates an ominous sound. They lurch into a big chugging sound with gruff vocals. One of the heaviest and most metal tracks on the record.
2. Short and heavy. Mellows out towards the end.
3. Quiet, melodic beginning with beautiful guitar. The track slowly builds and just when you think it’s going to explode into a full guitar attack they restrain themselves and stay melodic but still increase the intensity. The track seems to end prematurely.
4. Another quiet and melodic beginning. The guitar fades and bass shows up as well as cleanly sung female vocals and cello. Track gets a bit louder towards the end and there are both male and female vocals.
**5. Heavier and faster to start. Very much like older Neurosis. It quickly slows down.
**6. Quiet sad beginning. I love the dark melody of this track and the way it slowly builds. The track does get heavy and even has a guitar riff. I love how they fit the cello in this track. Track almost completely disappears with a minute left. The cello and violin finish the track.
7. Nice clean guitar sound and strumming. More of the super low vocals we heard in track 1.
8. A very unique sound to begin. Clean guitars and female vocals but not singing words. Intensity builds. Lots of octaves on guitar.
Absolutely amazing record!! -mph

Track Listing
1. Framework   5. Closer
2. Exit to Light   6. Night Covers Massacre
3. Hide the Sun   7. Anorexic
4. Goodnight Sweet Ghost   8. Revisit