Farmer Farmer / Hey Sally Sally
Album: Hey Sally Sally   Collection:General
Artist:Farmer Farmer   Added:Jun 2004
Label:Toe Nail Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-30 Pull Date: 2004-10-31
Week Ending: Oct 17 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 19 Sep 12
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 13, 2004: The Dog and Pony Show
Closed to Traffic
4. Sep 17, 2004: Jamorama
My Baby Is a Coil of ...
2. Oct 05, 2004: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Make Yourself An Honest Man
5. Sep 07, 2004: Lick My Moody Guitar SHow
Shuffle Monk
3. Sep 28, 2004: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Hey Sally

Album Review
Kathryn Todd
Reviewed 2004-08-20
Low production-value folk/rockabilly band sounds like its members are being controlled through their dental fillings by Roky Erikson. Male vocals, acoustic guitar drums and bass with a healthy dose of distortion, occasional appearances by a violin, and awesome lyrics that sound like the muttered rantings of a psychotic. You should check this out, especially if you have any affection for Nick Cave, Reverend Horton Heat, or the Thirteenth Floor Elevators. I like tracks 3, 4, 5, 7, and 10.

1: Dissonant acoustic guitars, distant vocals. Quiet wailing backup vocals. (5:14)
2: Prominent vocals with more distant echo-y back-ups, acoustic guitar, underwater feel. Whacked-out modern prophet style lyrics; lines about shepherds, streets closed to traffic, and the postal service don’t seem to have any connection to each other. (3:17)
3: Jangly acoustic guitars. “Angels in the engines / devil on the mind.” Folksy, nearly chanted vocals. “it’s about evacuating the North Atlantic for a dress.” (4:14)
4: Loud dissonant acoustic guitars. Lyrics: “No two sides parallel to the equator” (3:40)
5: More intricate guitars-like distorted bluegrass. Responsive percussion. Violin in the background. Long ending. “Information I love you.” (8:31)
6: Starts with percussion only-pretty normal brushed cymbals. Low quiet subterranean bass comes in. Intermittent vocals. The whole thing is pretty low volume, all (8:07) of it.
7: Slower, more melodic acoustic guitar and vocals. Not unlike downtempo Nick Cave with less distortion. (6:44)
8: False start on recording. Flat violin accompanies the singer’s quasi-monotone anthem of disaffection. (2:54)
9: More garage-style recording technique. Acoustic guitar, epic drums, submerged vocals. Crying baby sounds in the background, ominous domestic-gothic lyrics. (6:18)
10: Thickly textured slightly rockabilly style-not unlike Reverend Horton Heat. (2:59)

Track Listing
1. Shuffle Monk   6. Make Yourself An Honest Man
2. Closed to Traffic   7. Luman By the Iron Stove
3. Huck's Flag   8. Hey Sally
4. To Thunder Another Person's   9. Black Battery
5. My Baby Is a Coil of ...   10. Venus in Galoshes