Quantic / Mishaps Happening
Album: Mishaps Happening   Collection:General
Artist:Quantic   Added:Jun 2004
Label:Ubiquity Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-07-05 Pull Date: 2004-09-06 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 5 Aug 29 Aug 22 Aug 15 Aug 8 Aug 1 Jul 25 Jul 18
Airplays: 4 1 1 2 2 3 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 24, 2018: Pumping Iron
Sound of Everything
4. Jul 14, 2012: Bouge Mood
En Focus
2. Jun 09, 2014: Pumping Iron: A Retrospective
Mishaps Happening
5. Sep 04, 2011: lost and found
So Long
3. Dec 24, 2013: Pumping Iron / Winter Solstice Cooldown
Mishaps Happening
Mishaps Happening

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2004-07-15
Quantic - Mishaps Happening
Eclectic electronica. Quantic is Will Holland, who produces, records, and arranges himself playing multiple instruments to create music with a wide variety of flavors, particularly Brazilian, Afro-Groove, and lounge. He has recruited several vocalists for this album as well. Pretty nice stuff in general.
1) *Soft sweet up-tempo Brazilian samba featuring acoustic guitar and fem vox, gradually becomes more house-y
2) *Skipping afro-groove with male vox
3) Semi-loungy with female vocals
4) **Chugging afro-groove loop with French rapping by Etienne Charri
5) *Open drums and congas to start, adding on top flowing keyboard loops
6) Extended dramatic intro, into mellow down-tempo trip-hop
7) Up-tempo dance electronica with a clave rhythm and a hint of afro-groove
8) *Female vocal funk
9) *Soft acoustic guitar starts it off, layers build in, often adding more Brazilian flavor
10) Rolling acid jazz with female vocals.
11) Rising tempo drum-roll intro into smoothed electronica with female vocals
12) *Loungy dub with female vocals and Banjo(!)
Tom Purcell, June 2004

Track Listing
1. Mishaps Happening   7. Furthest Moment
2. Use What You Got   8. Don't Joke with a Hungry Man
3. Sound of Everything   9. Prelude to Happening
4. En Focus   10. When You're Through
5. Trees and Seas   11. Perception
6. Angels and Albatrosses   12. So Long