Byzantine / Fundamental Component, the
Album: Fundamental Component, the   Collection:General
Artist:Byzantine   Added:Jul 2004
Label:Prosthetic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-07-19 Pull Date: 2004-09-19 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Aug 22 Aug 15 Aug 1 Jul 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2005: The Sun Never Sets on Cool
Stoning Judas
4. Jul 29, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
2. Aug 19, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
Sin Remover
5. Jul 23, 2004: Under the Bloodstained Sheltering Sky Across Stanford
Stoning Judas
3. Aug 12, 2004: Les Chevaux De Frise
My New Casket
6. Jul 22, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Stick Figure

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-10-25
Byzantine – The Fundamental Component (Prosthetic Records)
Metalcore. Excellent metalcore, borrowing a lot from Lamb of God, this has pretty harsh vocals (sometimes clean, but NOT emo-ish), huge sounding syncopated drumming, and a fantastic guitar duo (awesome solos everywhere). Also, excellent lyrics and just really catchy melodies interspersed with the occasional head-crushing breakdown. Really American-sounding, this band avoids all the NWOSDM influences that the rest of the –core crowd is so fond of. Been waiting a while for this release to find its way to KZSU and I am not disappointed, not one bit.

1) Starts off with some neat squeals and then moves to the most intense breakdown-based song I’ve heard in a while. FCC (“fuck”) at –5:07.
2) Another quirky start, and then pummeling double bass and guitars, reminiscent of both Lamb of God and Pantera.
3) Blasting from the start, serious thrasher with some serious breakdowns. Think Machine Head gone mosh-core.
4) Longer song, more mid-tempo, reminds me a little of AJFA-era Metallica. Excellent song, really.
5) Wow, awesome modern thrash with an undeniable Machine Head influence, except for the vocals. Killer vocals in chorus, so sick, sick, sick.
6) A lot more originality in this song with some fantastic subdued guitar melodies hidden under a barrage of off-beat, off-kilter double bass drums that create a sense of a constant breakdown.
7) A groove-laden beginning gives way to a straight ahead neo-thrash tune with some catchy-as-hell riffing and soloing.
8) Fades in with a pretty basic beat and guitar line, but develops into probably the most NWOSDM-influenced song on the disc. Really good vocals and a tight rhythm section carry the whole song accompanied by some mild guitar noodling.
9) Check the riffs on this one, sounds like the CD is skipping, the drums are all crazy sounding, and the solo-noodling is actually effective, and it’s followed by this massive, massive runaway breakdown part, I can only imagine the circle pit that would ensue.
10) More double-bass madness and harmonized melodies that go hand-in-hand with the neo-thrash undertones. Fantastic closer, brings to mind the more eerie moments of Pantera.

Track Listing
1. Hatfield   6. Slipping on Noise
2. Stick Figure   7. Kill Chain
3. Stoning Judas   8. The Devil's Arithmetic
4. My New Casket   9. Brundlefly
5. Sin Remover   10. The Filth of Our Underlings