Two Gallants / Throes, the
Album: Throes, the   Collection:General
Artist:Two Gallants   Added:Jul 2004
Label:Alive Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-08-30 Pull Date: 2004-10-31
Week Ending: Oct 31 Oct 24 Oct 10 Oct 3 Sep 26 Sep 19 Sep 12 Sep 5
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 1 3 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 19, 2019: On the Warpath
Crow Jane
4. Jun 16, 2010: Brownian Values
Two Days Short Tomorrow
2. Nov 18, 2015: Brownian Motion
The Throes
5. Apr 21, 2010: Brownian Motion
The Throes
3. Nov 27, 2010: On The Warpath
The Throes
6. Feb 17, 2010: Brownian Motion
The Throes

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-08-23
More from the local duo’s swampy rock/blues/folk combo. Vocals not unlike Cat Stevens and some of his melodic transitions as well; also borrows from Dylan’s harmonica and harmonics, but they give it all a Delta feel and rocking attitude with ringing guitars. Lyrics are combination of R&R: relationships and rambling, with some great lines ("I love my country but I fear your mother" – track 2). I liked their long ballads best: 4, 6, 9. Check out other tracks as well.

1. Gotta love the intro; Cat Stevens delivery and searing harmonica. Robert Wilkins cover.
2. Mid tempo rocker, "you’d love to be a martyr but you’ve got nothing to die for", occasional backing vocals.
3. FCC (“Fucking”) great bridge, mid tempo, becomes slightly wild and ruckus.
4. ** Dramatic, slow and beautiful, 8 minutes long, every second is worth it. Bruce’s Tom Joad meets Dylan’s Oh Merci with a heartbreak chorus from the school of Cat. File under: Oh My God.**
5. Dylan’s harmonica opens into a ruckus loud ramble with harmonica.
6. * The title track, 8+ minute tale of domestic violence. Slow tempo, loud and soft interchangeably and simultaneously, rocking finish, great.*
7. 7 mins, driving mid tempo rhythm, lyrics that feel like some other place. Slows down for a dialog, and then fast tempo till the end.
8. Scratchy vox, slow tempo, guitar and harmonica, booze blues.
9. * 7+ mins, 1 minute quiet intro, rambling ballad with Wild West feel, quite outro. *

Track Listing
1. You Losin' Out   5. Fail Hard to Regain
2. Two Days Short Tomorrow   6. The Throes
3. Nothing to You   7. Drive My Car
4. Crow Jane   8. My Madonna
  9. Train that Stole My Man