Royal City / Little Heart's Ease
Album: Little Heart's Ease   Collection:General
Artist:Royal City   Added:Aug 2004
Label:Three Gut Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-03 Pull Date: 2005-03-07
Week Ending: Jan 16 Jan 9
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2005: Fiction Romance
Bring My Father a Gift
2. Jan 04, 2005: +
Can't You

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2005-01-07
Ultra-mellow and sparse folk/country with male vocals. The simplicity and mellowness of this album comes together for some beautiful songs, but at times the formula goes too far, and the songs get dull and easy to tune-out. All tracks are slow unless noted, with musical influences noted in track descriptions.
FCC Clean
Start with: 3 Then: 1,5,6,7 Reviewed by: Coop

1. *banjo/metallic guitar strumming, melancholy, sparse piano, strange percussion, dark subject matter,
2. intriguing hyper guitar solo over calm song, electric guitar works over delicate acoustic picking
3. **Quiet guitar-only start builds to cascading organ and what, break, flood of sound with backing vocals and thunderous drumming, repeated title of song, unfortunately brief, but glorious: "her eyes were less like night than morning"
4. drums lead, repeated guitar sounds in background
5. *Country, melancholy/yearning/beautiful vocal, reserved/contained pain
6. *folky, lamenting/drawling slide guitar, country serenade/woeful
7. * vocal harmony/70s folk-rock, lonely harmonica, achey/angsty guitar solo at 4:15-end
8. airy, ethereal, distant-sounding guitars and effects in background, "too late have I loved thee" repeated many times
9. country plus feel of Grateful Dead at their folkiest in harmonized chorus, 10 sec of silence at end of track
10. guitar picking and voice only
11. harmonica, boring, picks up slightly near end
12 relaxing, folky tune, background trombone

Track Listing
1. Bring My Father a Gift   7. My Body Is Numbered
2. Jerusalem   8. O Beauty
3. She Will Come   9. Ain't that the Way
4. Count the Days   10. That My Head Were a Spring O
5. Can't You   11. Enemy
6. Cabbage Rolls   12. Take Me Down to Yonder River