Young Jazz Giants / Young Jazz Giants
Album: Young Jazz Giants   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Young Jazz Giants   Added:Aug 2004
Label:Birdman Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-10-18 Pull Date: 2004-12-20 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Dec 12 Dec 5 Nov 21 Nov 14 Nov 7 Oct 31 Oct 24
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 1 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 06, 2012: No Cover, No Minimum
Giant Steps
4. Dec 10, 2004: No Cover, No Minimum - Favorites of 2004, Part 2
2. Oct 02, 2010: Music Casserole
Spider Walk
5. Dec 08, 2004: The Dog and Pony Show
Spider Walk
3. Nov 14, 2008: No Cover, No Minimum
Giant Steps
6. Dec 01, 2004: The Dog and Pony Show

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2004-10-17
Very much in the '60s late-bop/modal tradition, with Coltrane influences everywhere ... not at all like the urban hip-hop image projected on the cover. These guys have great taste and great chops, and they flash some nice variety between faithful acoustic bop (1,3) and a more modern sound (5,6).

The star is Kamasi Washington, who tears it up on sax (even on the slow ones). Cameron Graves on piano anchors the sound, spinning that fast yet warm/comforting jazzy sound.

1- Midtempo intro and a fast-paced stretch of solos.
2- Quick-paced, a soft feel. Bass solo quotes Coltrane's "Syeeda's Song Flute."
3- Mid/slow, big and stormy. Very Coltrane-esque.
4- Soft ballad
5- Electric piano, electric bass! Mid/fast and nicely cooking, laid-back
6- Sunny mellow funk, again with electric piano/bass.
7- Spoken-word that's at once eloquent and full of dopey double-entendres (and packed with jazz-history references). FCC-safe, I think. Music is gently crashing and very pretty.
8- Coltrane's "Giant Steps," a fast and expert rendition including some amazing, showy sax. Mellow piano intro.

Track Listing
1. Yenne   5. Spider Walk
2. Family   6. Stephen's Song
3. Tears of Sorrow and Rage   7. Yjg
4. Song for Billy   8. Giant Steps