Hindi Guns, the / Patriot Act Ep
Album: Patriot Act Ep   Collection:General
Artist:Hindi Guns, the   Added:Sep 2004
Label:French Fan Club  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-03 Pull Date: 2005-03-07
Week Ending: Feb 13 Jan 30 Jan 23 Jan 16 Jan 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 06, 2005: Robot Talent Show
4. Jan 12, 2005: Personality Crisis
2. Jan 26, 2005: Mr. Sparkle's Epic Soundtrack Challenge
We Mess Up the System
5. Jan 06, 2005: Fiction Romance
We Mess Up the System
3. Jan 22, 2005: Morning Glory (Full Moon Weekend/Foggy San Francisco Morning)
She's All Right
6. Jan 06, 2005: Worldwide
Shes All Right

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2004-12-07
The Hindi Guns "Patriot Act EP" – A short 4-song EP by Portland's rock group The Hindi Guns. Overall it's laid back rock with a swampy sound that sometimes gets psychedelic and spacey. Guitars tend to be at least a little fuzzed out and the solid female vocals are a nice compliment to the music. There are 2 covers, 1 remix of an original, and another original filled with vocal samples from Lemmy Kilmister and Henry Rollins. This is solid good rock with nice production that stops short of sounding too slick. The songs probably won't blow you away, but they are very nice. All are worthy of being played.
My Picks: 1 (fcc), 2
Katie P. 12/7/04

1)Fcc: says “asshole” several times. Starts with vocal sample of Lemmy Kilmister (of Motorhead). Drops into a solid midtempo groove with nice rock guitars with a taste of psych, but just a taste. Vocal sample is repeated many times. Then a Henry Rollins sample in the middle. Quite cool and laid back. Nice!
2)Primal Scream cover. Solid midtempo with some twangy slide guitar and plenty of fuzz on the guitars. Female vocals.
3)Faster midtempo with a heavy bass line. Female vocals. Nice tambourine and hand claps. Cool stereo effect on lead vocals. Sort of a swampy laid back groove. This is a remix of the song from their self-titled album.
4)John Fogerty cover. Noisy dirty guitar starts it off with a faster midtempo. Female vocals sometimes get lost in the fuzz of the guitars.

Track Listing
1. We Mess Up the System   3. Shes All Right
2. Rise   4. Run Through the Jungle