Various Artists / When the Sky Color Cha
Album: When the Sky Color Cha   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Ak Duck Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-09 Pull Date: 2005-03-13 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20 Feb 6 Jan 30 Jan 23 Jan 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2014: Eclectic Erudition week 14 Fall 2014
Miss Ponsibility
4. Jul 31, 2005: Dancing in Outer Space
Junk #14
2. Apr 30, 2007: Ducks as a metaphor - summer1
Junk #14
5. Mar 01, 2005: The Devil's Oligarchy
The War of Base and Bass
3. Sep 07, 2006: Afternoon Snack
Junk #14
6. Feb 22, 2005: The Devil's Collective
Made As You Wish

Album Review
Captain Dee
Reviewed 2005-01-18
Bitchin' compilation from emerging Israeli electronica/synth-pop label Ak Duck (thanks to Mor for the hook up). The tracks range from straight IDM to beeping videogame-esque tunes to electro-pop with vocals. But the whole compilation is very electronic in sound, and most of it has a "retro" vibe (lots of harsh/simple electronic beats). I enjoyed the pure electronica more, but maybe that’s just my personal taste.

And come on, the Duck Hunt reference alone makes this CD worth playing.
Favorite Tracks: 2, 4, 7, 8, 13

- Captain Dee, 12-2004

1. Echoing sounds, deep bass, clanky beat, wonky/tweaked-out melody. Later, muddled robot vocals. Picture a robot secret agent? (4:28)
**2. Funky, in a bizarre electronic way. Dirty robot beats with catchy synth riffs. Imagine a happenin' dance party in your CPU. Fun stuff. (5:29)
3. Lazy, wobbly melodies, mid-tempo beat. Snowy day music, perhaps. (3:20)
*4. Cheerful, echo-y synths, slow beat, glitchy feel. (3:53)
5. Old school synth-pop with duet of whisper-ish French vocals. 80's much? (3:01)
6. Tick-tocking instrumental electro-pop, underwater? Or at least muffled. (3:01)
*7. Vintage Atari/NES (Nintendo) sound, busy aura. This has to be composed using a videogame system. Hell yeah! (2:44)
*8. Scurrying electric harps, distant beat, cartoonish sound effects. Cute. (1:42)
9. Crashing drum beat, spacey but lush strings melody, electronic noodling. (3:42)
10. Sounds like a volcano erupting over an out-of-place, unsettling melody. (2:19)
11. Punk-y pop with electro twinge, happy chimes, and girl vocals. (2:19)
12. More Kraftwerk-ish electro-pop with a heavy 80’s feel and Hebrew(?) garage-ish vocals. (3:37)
*13. Cool juxtaposition of very ambient synths, industrial overtones/beat, shimmering melody fragments, and some Matrix samples. (7:17)

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Dex Turner Wish
2. Kalbata The War of Base and Bass
3. Mule Driver Miss Ponsibility
4. Acute Made As You Wish
5. Spark O Summertime Blues
6. Binom Newton Take It Sleazy
7. Gelbart Junk #14
8. Burstein, or The Fictional Well of the Re
9. Digital_Me Your God As a Metaphor
10. Strategic Friendships Rotem's Birthday Song
11. Rockstar Wannabe You're Fine
12. Poster Boys Electrifying Feeling
13. Ambidextrous Us or Them