Various Artists / Juncture
Album: Juncture   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Pi Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-12-12 Pull Date: 2005-02-13
Week Ending: Feb 13 Jan 2 Dec 26
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 12, 2005: the Dog and Pony Show
3. Dec 22, 2004: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Jet Set
2. Dec 31, 2004: Hail To The Past, Move Towards The Future
Code Blue

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2004-12-07
Jazz/electronic/hip-hop/experimental compilation/concept CD: every track on the disc is inspired by a different work of short fiction. The CD is part of a “large collaborative project” involving some visual stuff as well as these short stories. The result can be annoying, but the CD does have its moments.

Reviewed 12/7/2004 by Shivaram.

1. Electronic. Slow, simple beat. What sounds like a marimba. Violin soloist. Repetitive.
2. Electronic. Slow. Irregular beat, jazzy feel. Distorted male and female spoken vocals; “obsession” repeated. Piano runs and bass. Very unfriendly lounge music.
3. * Electric. Insistent drumbeat. Guitar, bass, and drums; all instrumental. Sharp and jangly, but not harsh. Vaguely robotic; grows and develops. Interesting.
4. Electronic. Dark, rubbery beat. Industrial-sounding clicks and whooshes. Skirts dark ambient. Monotonous.
5. * Jazz. Takes a while to get started. Turns wild, aggressive, and chaotic. Slows down to saxophone melody, with piano and percussion, by 3:15. Leaves as slowly as it came in.
6. Electronic. Starts with irregular, tuned percussion. Almost starts to “rock” around 2:00; weird, noisy bounce. Falls back down into a tuneless, cymbal-propelled march. Vinyl scratching throughout.
7. * Electronic. Fast, heavily percussive. Complicated, intense beat track. Overstays its welcome a little.
8. Self-conscious world-music. West African drums and flute. Male spoken word.
9. * Jazz. Arranged, slow, elegant. Flute, piano and sax dominate; virtuosic sax runs towards the end. Definitely the most listenable track on the CD.
10. Electronic. Genuine (though unimpressive) male vocals. A lot of bass underneath. Pop-flavored electronic percussion and noises.
11. Hip-hop. Bass and piano runs. Two men rapping about sibling rivalry.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Dj Spooky that Subliminal Kid Code Blue
2. Hurt, James Greed (Be Careful What U Wis
3. Turing Machine Friday I Died
4. High Priest Third Rail
5. Iyer, Vijay Imperium (Peace Prize/War Cr
6. Ladd, Mike Li'l Boy (Dirty Git-Git)
7. Reid, Vernon Dystosphere 3
8. Pace, Lorenzo Jalani's Jungle Music
9. Collins, Jay Character
10. Gaugh, Micah Jet Set
11. Real Live Show, the Sweet Poison