Efterklang / Tripper
Album: Tripper   Collection:General
Artist:Efterklang   Added:Nov 2004
Label:Leaf Label  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-27 Pull Date: 2005-05-29
Week Ending: May 29 May 15 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 3
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 28, 2010: blood orangeasm
4. Feb 20, 2009: orangeasm
2. Feb 12, 2010: The Sultry Poo Story
5. Aug 09, 2008: Nag Champa DroneGasm
3. Dec 04, 2009: Radiophonic
6. May 26, 2005: The Devil's Collective

Album Review
Alex Dunn
Reviewed 2005-03-19
Sigur Ros, except that it’s not. The main difference is that the lyrics are in English instead of a made-up language. Shares many of the same strong points, especially the excellent orchestration and beautiful melodies. This CD also has interesting, thoughtful electronic touches. All the tracks are similar, and similarly strong. Recommend all tracks.

1) 60 bpm. Electronic space sounds, rather pretty. Then strings, vocal chorus with indecipherable lyrics.
2) 60 bpm. Ballad. Electronics, piano, strings. Lovely soprano vocals. Interesting, glitchy editing. Brief trumpet interlude, then back to being good. Long nearly silent ending.
3) 80 bpm. Soprano/male vocals. Pretty, glitchy electronic background, later trumpet, strings. Gets beaty. Then segues to floating harmonium melody.
4) 55 bpm. Brooding, sparser than previous tracks. Later, full choir.
5) 75 bpm. Sweet, sad soprano vocals, then electronic beat and bells. Lovely piano/orchestral interlude, then chorus. Excellent.
6) 70 bpm. Begins with low, growling electronics. Gradual entrance by strings, indistinct m. vocals. Series of pretty orchestral washes
7) 80 bpm. Nervous electronic rhythm plus bells, brief pause, then resumes as a variation. Mostly electronic throughout, with brief appearances by trumpet.
8) 55 bpm. Subdued, bells, violin, chorus. Gradually grows, adding instruments, m./f. vocals. Beat gets crunchy briefly, them back to lovely choral form. Interesting microtonal end. Excellent.
9) 80 bpm. Electronics, piano, strong beat. M./f. vocals. Later strings, trumpet merge into rich sound. False ending ~1 min from end. Also very good.


Track Listing
1. Foetus   5. Collecting Shields
2. Swarming   6. Doppelganger
3. Step Aside   7. Tortuous Tracks
4. Prey and Predator   8. Monopolist
  9. Chapter 6