Various Artists / Monster Dudes/Lowbelly
Album: Monster Dudes/Lowbelly   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Dec 2004
Label:Fort Hazel Magic  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-02-13 Pull Date: 2005-04-17
Week Ending: Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 09, 2005: On The Warpath
Untitled Track 7
4. Mar 13, 2005: Bloodstains Across Atherton
Smokin' Jack
2. Mar 29, 2005: Eran Mukamel
Untitled Track 3
5. Mar 08, 2005: The Devils Collective x 3/2
Sharks Among Us
3. Mar 14, 2005: Stirling's Approximation
Smokin' Jack
6. Mar 04, 2005: Memory Select
<No Title> Are

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-02-09
Experimental, excellent, low fi folk, prog, treated as electronic loops, samples, organo-acoustic noise with some great beats and themes. Cool stuff reminiscent of great late 80's ensemble "Biota". No way to define, but there are moments that smack of Birdsongs fo the Mesozoic. This is actually a split: first 7 tracks are Monster Dudes (which actually have a 4 year old in the band) and the rest are Lowbelly

1) brief electro spacey intro
2) cool noisey electro beat with low fi organo-acoustic layers over, noisy
3)noisy, chill, a beat but not driving, creepy and weird
4) chill beat thats noisy but quite nice, subtle
5) cool noisiness, downtempo and quite monday morning nice
6) dark chill downtempo no-real-beat
7) loopingly builds into cool strange rhythm with looping voc sample
8) melodic, organ-brass-synth tones, overall dark theme
9)near prog feel with clarinet and reeds, reminds me of Biota, halting beats
10) slow upright bass, slide guitar, Biota'like
11) too brief
12) also brief, klezmer feel
13) slow, mindful, tom toms, clarinet comes through, jazz'like, but the track ends and environmental recording enters, then back again
14) spacey
15) really spacey
16) acoustic guit, simple feel
17) toy piano, simple banjo and synth tones, slow dark plodding
18) clarinet, slow mindful improv
19) super brief
20) pensive, smacks of Birdsongs of the Mesozoic crossed with Tubular Bells
21) slow, mindful dirge

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 1
2. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 2
3. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 3
4. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 4
5. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 5
6. Monster Dudes Monster Dudes
7. Monster Dudes Untitled Track 7
8. Lowbelly The Queen
9. Lowbelly Smokin' Jack
10. Lowbelly Key Boom
11. Lowbelly Isn't that Scary?
12. Lowbelly Island Q112
13. Lowbelly The Maze, Parts 1 and 2
14. Lowbelly Don't Open that Door
15. Lowbelly The Cage
16. Lowbelly Because of the Boxes
17. Lowbelly Sharks Among Us
18. Lowbelly Montage M407
19. Lowbelly Isn't that Scary?
20. Lowbelly Theme From Halloween
21. Lowbelly The Queen (Reprise)