Various Artists / World Dub Pastry
Album: World Dub Pastry   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2005
Label:Music for Dreams  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-23 Pull Date: 2005-03-27 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Mar 27 Feb 13 Feb 6 Jan 30
Airplays: 1 2 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 29, 2013: Pumping Iron
This Room
4. Feb 07, 2005: Selectronica
Egyptian Disco (Remix)
2. May 16, 2005: Black and Blue
Egyptian Disco (Remix)
5. Feb 06, 2005: Robot Talent Show
Egyptian Disco (Remix)
3. Mar 22, 2005: Princess in the evening
Egyptian Disco (Remix)
6. Feb 04, 2005: Bump & Hustle Music

Album Review
Jon Barnes
Reviewed 2005-01-25
An absolutely killer compilation of dub that covers a lot of ground, and lingers over the dark stuff (yeah!). Even drifts into what I would classify as ultra-deep, dark progressive house for tracks 4 and 5. (5 is AMAZING. Track 8 too).

Track 1: Main ingredients: sax riff, sparse organ, and talking hand drums (the kind that change pitch as you squeeze them).
Track 2: Thick beat with rolling kick drum is the standout element in this one. Deep!
Track 3: Complex meter, so not too catchy. Looped African chant & rasta quote.
Track 4: WOW! Dark, stripped down, and twisted! The lights are off and your jaw is grinding like a fool.
***Track 5: SHEER PERFECTION. Same deal as the previous track: dubby, druggy, and bursting with tension. TURN IT UP! Reminds me of Sasha & Digweed in their “Communicate” days: 5am at Twilo and the whole place is heaving, cross-eyed and sinister. (Note: even the Egyptian vocals in this one don’t sound cheesy).
Track 6: Back to the more conventional dub. German female vocal; a couple organs.
Track 7: Funky! Filtered bass and full vocal/horn arrangement.
**Track 8: INCREDIBLE, A+. Spacey percussion, growling bass, & ominous vocal.
Track 9: Swinging, with guitar riff up front and some jazzy elements.
Track 10: Tasteful and lush atmospherics on top of a grade A bassline. Chilled.
Track 11: Opens with piano, no beat for first minute and a half. Mellow, beautiful.
Track 12: Album ends on a low note. Minimal, not bad, but not too interesting either

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Djek A.S.A.P.
2. Tomzen Che Amichi
3. Sandoz Spiritual Vibe
4. Mind Over Midi Revelation
5. Dj Disse Egyptian Disco (Remix)
6. 2 Raumwohung Ich Weiss Warum (Edit)
7. Jon Dukie & Dj Fitchie This Room
8. Blaze Lovelee Dae (8 Miles High)
9. Superglue P.U.F. (Robot Coupe Dub)
10. Cantoma Overtime
11. Banzai Republic Faetter Dub
12. Manuela Krause & Pole Balalaika Dub