Various Artists / Luftkastellet 2
Album: Luftkastellet 2   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2005
Label:Music for Dreams  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-30 Pull Date: 2005-04-03 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Mar 13 Mar 6
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 10, 2009: Signal to Noise
3. Mar 03, 2005: Epiphany of Sound
Beautiful Day, When Shes Gone
2. Mar 12, 2005: Morning Glory
Khan feat Julee Cruise "Say Goodbye" ("She's Homeless" Mix)
4. Feb 27, 2005: Robot Talent Show
Going Away (Remix)

Album Review
Jon Barnes
Reviewed 2005-01-30
Compilation from a restaurant/bar in Copenhagen, that achingly hip capitol of Denmark, where they love to cover every available square inch of surface area with candles, and then ferociously chainsmoke deep into the night. This album starts off with some GREAT reggae-flavored chillout and progresses into more uptempo but still lounge-y tunes. There’s some fodder mixed in but also some gems, especially toward the beginning of the album. First track is AMAZING.
Best tracks: 1, 2, 5, 14

Track 1: Hypnotic, sleazy reggae with a chilled-out and haunting horn riff. Think bong hits and satin sheets – this one’s for the stoners AND the sex addicts. Better yet, the stoned sex addicts. By FAR the best track on the album, PLAY!!
Track 2: Broken beat trip hop, very creative and catchy. Love the electro synth touches and the reggae organ doing its thing in the background. Quality!
Track 3: More trip hop, this time centered around strings and standup bass.
Track 4: Spacey and lush chillout with an ultra deep house beat and the token Balearic guitar solo at the end. Sunset-at-the-beach, but tastefully done. Pass the hash joint.
Track 5: Bill Withers “Ain’t No Sunshine” gets mashed into a deep house arrangement with warm pads and some nice piano at the end. GREAT stuff!
Track 6: Still on the mellow house tip, but picking things up a bit. Tight beats and a great bassline, but the male euro vocal is a bit much.
Track 7: Same deal as the last track. Killer twisted tech house spoiled by cheesy vocals.
Track 8: Echoing bells over more deep 4x4 beats. Spacey but doesn’t do much over 7 minutes
Track 9: Disco-flavored house as the album takes an uptempo turn. I’ve got nothing against vocals (really!) but here is yet another perfectly good song spoiled by someone who can’t sing.
Track 10: Stripped down arrangement of percussive drums beneath a vocal sample from a classroom in Dixie…
Track 11: Accordions and horns. Klezmer meets trip hop? Apparently Danes have weird taste in music.
Track 12: Ragtime piano and low-fi female vox on top of a simple oom-pa beat.
Track 13: Acid bassline and beats, blended creatively with some xylophone, and yet another inexplicably tasteless vocal.
Track 14: A gem. Acoustic guitar doing jazz chords, gorgeous string arrangement, some nice vox finally, all juxtaposed over a simple electro beat. This is where everyone at the bar seals the deal, and heads home to make out.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Joe Dukie & Dj Fitchie Midnight Marauders (Dub)
2. Hilltribe Vs. Staple Singers Going Away (Remix)
3. Flevans Stars
4. Ganga Sweet Morning
5. Banzai Republic When Shes Gone
6. Laidback Beautiful Day
7. Khan Feat. Julee Cruise Say Goodbye
8. Hawke Mass
9. Mr Bird Vs Wild Palms Laidback
10. Visti & Meyland All Nite (Yes Maam)
11. Shantel Bucovina
12. Rework I Can't Remember Anything
13. Hessismore Walksong
14. Luke Baby Stay Fair