Low / Great Destroyer, the
Album: Great Destroyer, the   Collection:General
Artist:Low   Added:Jan 2005
Label:Sub Pop Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-01-30 Pull Date: 2005-04-03
Week Ending: Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20 Mar 13 Mar 6 Feb 27 Feb 20 Feb 13
Airplays: 5 5 4 3 5 3 8 5

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2011: Daydream Disaster
4. Oct 01, 2007: college radio
When I Go Deaf
2. Nov 12, 2009: Socially Unacceptable
5. Aug 16, 2007: logic of love
On the Edge of
3. May 17, 2009: Sasquatch Sub
Broadway (So Many People), When I Go Deaf
6. Jun 28, 2007: Fiction Romance

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-03-02
A new “aggressive” direction for Duluth, MN-based sadcore/ slowcore band Low. Over the last 10 years Low has developed a sound unlike many bands: slow, sparse, fragile m+f vocals. This is often full, medium tempoed, distorted. For how much of a shock this is, I’m surprised how much I like it. Some great moments on this disc; some bland moments as well, but more good than bad.
My picks: 2, 6, 9, 10, 12 All clean
1. rumbling drums, keyboard drone, a little guitar and lots of fuzz keyboard-bass. great m-f vocals.
2. “poppy.” medium tempo and a full sound but reminds me of the “old” low quite a bit. has a nice breakdown and build near the end of the song.
3. distorted guitar, lo-fi drums. a bit repetitive
4. slow, soft until the middle.. distorted guitar (left channel) and arpeggiated guitar (right channel). subtle drums until shimmering drums in the middle
5. slightly lowified standard indie rock.
6. slow, reverby guitar line, loud nice, soft part from the middle to the end
7. slow, mostly voice (those great m+f vocals!) with a slight backing. pretty. builds.
8. weird, distorted vocals. makes me feel like I’m going crazy, until the somewhat mundane chorus (clapping).
9. soft strumming (autoharp?). not quite old low-style but slow and sad and gorgeous. a sudden loud and distorted part at the end doesn’t ruin the song (but don’t expect to go to sleep to it either)
10. long (7:14) sounds really familiar. goes between rhythmic / strumming and echoey vocals. intense build at the end.
11. starts out soft, one guitar strumming. guitar/ feedback solo. nice resolution
12. acoustic guitar strumming and m vox.
13. starts all drums, then strummed guitar.

Track Listing
1. Monkey   7. Cue the Strings
2. California   8. Step
3. Everybody's Song   9. When I Go Deaf
4. Silver Rider   10. Broadway (So Many People)
5. Just Stand Back   11. Pissing
6. On the Edge of   12. Death of a Salesman
  13. Walk Into the Sea