Crooked Fingers / Dignity and Shame
Album: Dignity and Shame   Collection:General
Artist:Crooked Fingers   Added:Feb 2005
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-03-06 Pull Date: 2005-05-08
Week Ending: May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20
Airplays: 2 2 2 3 2 3 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 10, 2011: Double Daydream Disaster
Weary Arms
4. Jan 20, 2009: I once was Canadian
2. Jan 27, 2011: Daydream Disaster
You Must Build a Fire
5. May 24, 2007: Finneman's Market
You Must Build a Fire
3. Apr 21, 2009: I once was Canadian
Weary Arms
6. Feb 22, 2006: I once was canadian

Album Review
Reviewed 2005-03-02
countrified indie,, Americana, neo-folk, etc from Eric Bachman’s (formerly of Archers of Loaf) Crooked Fingers. The only remnant of that old band is Bachman’s rough voice which juxtaposes nicely with the softer music. reminds me of everything from the Red House Painters to My Morning Jacket to Damien Jurado to some Will Oldham stuff to poppier influences. often nice rhythm on vocal melodies. The sort of album where the songs grow on you I think. I’ll probably be in love with it by the end of the week.
My picks: 2, 5, 6, 7, 11
1. some Spanish flavah. Spanish guitar. trumpet, congos. no vox
2. slowish cello, guitar, drums at the beginning, goes into fairly up-tempo song.
3. more rockin’, straight drums and guitar.
4. piano. pretty poppy chorus.
5. slowish. piano. sparse drums. builds. nice distorted guitar solo. long fade out.
6. my favorite. med-slow. guitar and vocals. slide guitar. fade out ending
7. up-tempo. about drunken peeping on a girl. nice trumpet parts.
8. dark with militaristic drums.
9. med-slow. m+f vox.
10. guitars (distorted and not). busy/ intense ending.
11. oom-pah piano. nice semi-melodic bass line. drums enter. build near the end.
12. piano and vox. he pronounces things funny during the chorus.

Track Listing
1. Islero   7. Valerie
2. Weary Arms   8. Andalucia
3. Call to Love   9. Sleep All Summer
4. Twilight Creeps   10. Coldways
5. Destroyer   11. Wrecking Ball
6. You Must Build a Fire   12. Dignity and Shame