Kneebody / Kneebody
Album: Kneebody   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Kneebody   Added:Mar 2005
Label:Greenleaf Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-05-08 Pull Date: 2005-07-10 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 22, 2010: Memory Select
Break Me
4. May 11, 2007: Memory Select
Never Remember
2. Jul 27, 2007: Memory Select
Break Me
5. Sep 08, 2006: Memory Select: Dewey Redman, RIP
Coat Rack
3. Jun 20, 2007: "In Your Ear ..." with David Bug, a moment before weights
The Comedian, Never Remember
6. Jul 08, 2005: Memory Select
Never Remember

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-05-04
Youthful-sounding band, straight jazz with modern touches from the rock world: Lots of electric guitar with prog elements (3); keyboards ranging from conservative piano (10) to scrabbly synths (1). You can tell they listen to funk, BPM, and hip-hop, although none of those appears explicitly here.

Like The Bad Plus with less bombast. Plenty of "straight" tracks if you're looking for that, also lots of envelope-pushing elements to tracks like 1,3,6,11.

The band was signed out of nowhere by Dave Douglas for the second CD on his Greenleaf label (Douglas's own "Mountain Passages" was the first.) A real find; you can see why Douglas snapped 'em up.

Trumpeter Shane Endsley also appears on the Ralph Alessi album, "Vice and Virtue," mostly as a drummer.

1- Snappy and sort of funky, w/some wacky sci-fi noises
2- A bit spacey; curly horn lines over dark electronics
3- Boppish midtempo horns, thundery bass. Catchy themes before a space/proggy middle. Happy stuff, a highlight.
4- Cute theme, rather fast and gentle with BPM-like drums.
5- Snippet. Mildly crazy
6- Mid/fast, a "tough" rockish stomp (In relative terms. Note that a jazz "stomp" isn't all that stomping ... )
7- Slowish, warm
8- Evil start! into some straight jazz w/Bitches-Brew electric piano
9- Mysterious, with slow sax over tribal drum and quiet horns
10- Piano: brisk and melodic. A gentle turn.
11- Like #2, but shifts into soft straight-jazz. Warm feel overall.
12- Gentle, mid/fast.

Track Listing
1. Break Me   7. Victory Lap
2. Clime Part 1   8. Coat Rack
3. Never Remember   9. Halfway to Scranton
4. The Comedian   10. Everywhere From there to ...
5. Wide Eyed   11. Clime Part 2
6. I'm Your General   12. Perfect Compromise